The Witches of Echo Park The Witches of Echo Park
Book 1 - An Echo Park Coven Novel

The Witches of Echo Park

An Echo Park Coven Novel

    • 3.9 • 9 Ratings
    • $10.99
    • $10.99

Publisher Description

First in a “spellbinding”* series about a coven of witches living in L.A., from Amber Benson, author of the Calliope Reaper-Jones novels.

Unbeknownst to most of humankind, a powerful network of witches thrives within the shadows of society, using magic to keep the world in balance. But the witches are being eliminated—and we will all pay if their power falls…
When Lyse MacAllister’s great-aunt Eleanora, the woman who raised her, becomes deathly ill, Lyse puts her life in Georgia on hold to rush back to Los Angeles. And once she returns to Echo Park, Lyse discovers her great-aunt has been keeping extraordinary secrets from her.
Not only is Lyse heir to Eleanora’s Victorian house; she is also expected to take her great-aunt’s place in the Echo Park coven of witches. But accepting her destiny means placing herself in deadly peril—for the world of magic is under siege, and the battle the witches now fight may be their last…

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
January 6
Penguin Publishing Group

Customer Reviews

Flomp ,

An exciting read!

“The Witches of Echo Park” is Amber Benson’s engaging, initial offering away from the first person narrative, Calliope Reaper-Jones series of books to an omniscient and powerful voice in storytelling.

“The Witches of Echo Park” is the tale of young protagonist, Lyse MacAllister, the grandniece of Eleanora. Lyse unwittingly stumbles into the role of a lifetime; the leader of a witches’ coven currently lead by her great-aunt who resides in Echo Park - East Los Angeles. Eleanora has terminal cancer and gives Lyse a bit of a “push” towards her new role. But not so fast, Ms. Benson guides us along Lyse’s journey using an alchemy of words to create and sustain a chilling storyline that builds with the pace of a locomotive train moving from standstill to full, forward thrusting motion.

Using visionary imagery with the ease of a virtuoso, she sweeps us alternately between fast paced, waking action to haunting, mystical and sometimes violent “dreamscapes”. Lyse’s journey from a fairly uncomplicated co-owner of a Georgia based plant nursery to fated heir apparent of the modern day coven of witches is complex and fascinating. The supporting main characters, a likable cadre of women devoted to their Craft and more importantly, devoted to each other, provide the backdrop of sisterhood and solidarity Lyse needs to guide her towards her destiny.

There is no dearth of humor, intrigue, passion, nor bone chilling suspense as peripheral characters, amiable and nefarious, are introduced with backstories diverse and beguiling enough to fuel a new series of adventure. Most of the magic, at least for the first book in the series, is in the storytelling. Perhaps the “razzle dazzle” is yet to come?

I definitely enjoyed the novel and look forward to the next book in the series.

Mrzzh ,

Good book

Although this may not be the best book ever, it is definitely very good and had me turning pages when I should've been asleep. Loved it and look forward to reading the next one. Definitely recommend it. Not to mention that the vocabulary is very large in this book and has me learning new words every page! Definitely helps me be more descriptive with my writing.

Stvensdötter ,


I was skeptical at first but once I began couldn't put it down. I am looking forward to more!

More Books Like This

The Keeping Place The Keeping Place
The Thirteenth Sacrifice The Thirteenth Sacrifice
City of Wishes 1: The Memory Thief City of Wishes 1: The Memory Thief
City of Wishes: The Complete Cinderella Story City of Wishes: The Complete Cinderella Story
Fae's Deception: A Fae Fantasy Romance Fae's Deception: A Fae Fantasy Romance
When the Night Whispers When the Night Whispers

More Books by Amber Benson

Star vs. the Forces of Evil: Star and Marco's Guide to Mastering Every Dimension Star vs. the Forces of Evil: Star and Marco's Guide to Mastering Every Dimension
Death's Daughter Death's Daughter
Cat's Claw Cat's Claw
How to be Death How to be Death
Serpent's Storm Serpent's Storm
The Golden Age of Death The Golden Age of Death

Other Books in This Series

The Last Dream Keeper The Last Dream Keeper
The End of Magic The End of Magic