• $11.99

Publisher Description

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller!

“Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing.” —Gillian Flynn

“Unputdownable.” —Stephen King

“A dark, twisty confection.” —Ruth Ware

“Absolutely gripping.” —Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.
   

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
January 2
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
464
Pages
PUBLISHER
William Morrow
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Readingbythesea ,

Really good

If you like to try and guess who did it this is the book for you. Exciting turns to the end.

JASmith82 ,

Crazy Like. Fox... OrIs She?

Crazy Like a Fox… Or Is She?

Dr. Anna Fox has issues. That is quite the understatement of character when reading A.J. Finn’s The Woman in the Window. Anna Fox is a woman on the edge. She spends her time at home in online chat rooms offering advice to others, binge watching Hitchcock movies as well as other old Hollywood thrillers and drinking an amazing amount of merlot. Another hobby of Anna’s is spying on her neighbors in the adjacent apartment building through the high powered lense of her camera. Events start to ramp up and come into focus when Anna watches a modern day version of Rear Window play out in her neighbor’s apartment.

Now the reader long with Anna have to determine what and who is real and what events are real or imagined. There is also list of questions that begins to formulate that are answered by the end of the novel: Why is Anna home all the time? What is behind her fascination with old Hollywood thrillers? Are all of these people coming in and out of Anna’s life real or products of her merlot-soaked imagination?

The big difference between Anna Fox and the flood of unreliable narrators taking over novels and film today is that she is likable. Even though she is flawed and impossibly self-destructive, she is an interesting combination of vulnerability and strength.

While the novel starts out as a slow burn, the pacing is masterful at keeping the reader engaged and leads to a tense resolution that reads like a Hitchcock thriller. It is an up at 3am read and jumping at every little noise in the house experience. I speak from experience :)

Finn creates a plot full of funhouse mirrors, spooky basements, trap doors and danger, both real and imagined, at every turn.

Start your new year reading list with this nonstop thriller.

MygiftsA&L ,

Interesting… but…

I must say that as a whole the book was ok... it was sort of long and drawn out and at times I had to skim over pages because it was a lot of the same... the last few chapters were really good, but it took a lot to get there. The main characters story was a bit repetitive and because of that, I gave it 3 stars!

More Books by A. J. Finn