The Wonder of Lost Causes

A Novel

    • 4.6 • 92 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

“THE WONDER OF LOST CAUSES is equal parts heart wrenching and heartwarming as Trout pulls you onto an emotional rollercoaster that is sure to leave your heart filled to the brim. A true testament to the power of love in its purest and most absolute form.”
   — Rachael Lippincott, New York Times bestselling author of Five Feet Apart

In this unforgettable novel, perfect for fans of An Unexpected Grace and A Dog’s Way Home, a single mom and her chronically ill child receive a valuable lesson from an unlikely source—a very special dog who unexpectedly enters their lives and shows them that one person’s lost cause can be another’s greatest gift . . .Dr. Kate Blunt will do anything for her son, Jasper. Well, almost anything. Since Jasper has the incurable lung disease cystic fibrosis, Kate’s always told him he couldn’t get a dog. It’s a tough call, but she’s a single mom taking care of a kid who fights for every breath he takes. The daily medical routine that keeps Jasper alive is complicated enough. Worse still, Kate’s personal resolve runs contrary to her work as the veterinarian in charge of a Cape Cod animal shelter, where she is on a mission to find forever homes for dogs in desperate need.

The scarred, mistreated wreck of a dog that turns up doesn’t stand a chance. Named Whistler, he’s too old, too ugly. But the dog forms an instantaneous bond with Jasper. Whistler never makes a sound, yet he speaks to Jasper in a myriad of mysterious ways. The clock’s ticking, the dog’s future hangs in the balance, and Jasper would do anything to find him a home; but Whistler has chosen them—for a reason.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
April 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
464
Pages
PUBLISHER
William Morrow Paperbacks
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.6
MB

Customer Reviews

ljj69 ,

For the Love of a Dog

Only a true dog lover can detect the power of love between a dog and his positive match in a human. I have matched with this, my last dog named Skye. I will be forever grateful for him, my bucket list last dog companion. I cherish my interaction and abundant love between us ❣️🥰💖

weimaranermama ,

Loving your pups

This book is a must read for dog lovers or anyone who knows or loves someone with a chronic, potentially deadly disease. It will make you smile, get teary eyed and embrace your love of our 4 legged sons and daughters

1 Banker ,

Slow start

Slow start, good from about midway on.

More Books by Nick Trout

2008
2011
2020
2015
2014

Customers Also Bought

2020
2015
2020
2010
2016
2020