The Year of Disappearances The Year of Disappearances

The Year of Disappearances

    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

In the sequel to her acclaimed novel The Sanguinist's Daughter (formerly The Society of S), Susan Hubbard continues the adventures of Ariella Montero, who, in the midst of the ongoing presidential campaign, discovers that a leading contender for America's top political office just happens to be a vampire surrounded by the demons of lying, cheating, and murder. The Year of Disappearances traces Ariella Montero's fourteenth year, during which she is accused of lying, cheating, and murder (twice). Her education continues, but instead of literature, science, and math, she learns folklore, the art and craft of journalism, and most important, the nature of personal demons. The book's themes involve masks and the duality of the self, the evil of hypocrisy, and the perpetual conflict between the desires of the flesh and those of the spirit. As Ari comes to question her own authenticity, listeners may begin to question her. Could the accusations against her be justified? Is she a reliable narrator? Or is someone else at work, telling us her story?

Susan Hubbard’s “smooth supernatural thriller” (Publishers Weekly) continues the most surprising vampire story you’ll ever read. New York Times bestselling author Charlaine Harris likens Hubbard’s “mysterious and well-written” novels to Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight saga, whose fans “pump new blood into Hubbard’s series” (Florida Today).  “Fans of Stephenie Meyer, I have a new author for you who is even better. meet Susan Hubbard,” proclaims the Poisoned Pen newsletter from the Poisoned Pen mystery bookstore.

Reviews

"Wonderful and suspenseful." -- Charlaine Harris, author of All Together Dead



"With a delicate touch, the talented Hubbard manages to merge environmental concerns with a murder mystery, a coming of age tale with a literary vampire twist." -- Tammar Stein, St. Petersburg Times

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2015
December 20
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
350
Pages
PUBLISHER
Blue Garage Co.
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
291.2
KB

More Books Like This

Rich in Love Rich in Love
1987
Sweet Water Sweet Water
2010
Bliss Montage Bliss Montage
2022
Autobiography of Us Autobiography of Us
2013
The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot
2021
The Truants The Truants
2020

More Books by Susan Hubbard

The Season of Risks The Season of Risks
2015
The Sanguinist's Daughter The Sanguinist's Daughter
2015