• $10.99

Publisher Description

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery.

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang—a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette’s first love…and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns—and grudges—aside and work together, for if they can’t stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2020
November 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Margaret K. McElderry Books
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
4.2
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 9 and Above

Customer Reviews

Gu ufxigcjg kg ,

Yesyesyesyesyes

If you haven’t read this book yet, what are you doing with your life. Of course I could go on and on but the sooner I finish this review, the sooner I can get back to the book. 5 stars so far. No doubt about it.

Band width ,

Interesting premise but mixes too many genres

The book started out interestingly with giving a sense of time and place; but the supernatural component seemed ridiculous. The book became very tedious and I ended up skimming the last third. No ending, just a lead in for a sequel. Definitely won’t be reading it!

callmetashie ,

Best Debut of 2020

I love Juliette Cai and Roma Montagov so much!