• $10.99

Publisher Description

An Instant New York Times Bestseller!
A BuzzFeed Best Young Adult Book of 2020

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Serpent & Dove, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery.

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang—a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette’s first love…and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns—and grudges—aside and work together, for if they can’t stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2020
November 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Margaret K. McElderry Books
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
11.5
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 9 and Above

Customer Reviews

유선미22 ,

ABSOLUTELY

I started this book purely bc I needed smthg to read on my phone. The plot looked fun and the historical context is what made me click buy. As predicted, I throughly enjoyed the book and am eagerly awaiting the second. I think my favorite part of the book wasn’t a specific scene but the way that such a “classic” story was set in such a unique time period and location that many many many people don’t know about.

ActingBabe ,

So good!!!

These Violent Delights is a great twist on Romeo and Juliette! Set in Shanghai in the early 1900’s with two warring gangs, you’ll be captivated from beginning to end. Chloe Gong weaves romance and action together beautifully to create characters you will fall in love with!

Gu ufxigcjg kg ,

Yesyesyesyesyes

If you haven’t read this book yet, what are you doing with your life. Of course I could go on and on but the sooner I finish this review, the sooner I can get back to the book. 5 stars so far. No doubt about it.

More Books by Chloe Gong

Other Books in This Series