• $10.99

Publisher Description

Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.

New York Times bestseller * 4 starred reviews * A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * A Kirkus Best Book of the Year * A Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 * A Bustle Best YA Novel of 2017 * A Paste Magazine Best YA Book of 2017 * A Book Riot Best Queer Book of 2017 * A Buzzfeed Best YA Book of the Year * A BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today.

Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called “profound.”

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2017
September 5
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Quill Tree Books
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
9.7
MB
AUDIENCE
Ninth Grade

Customer Reviews

Teja.B ,

Absolutely Beautiful!

This book is absolutely beautiful. Mateo and Rufus were so easy to love and hard to let go. I don’t know how I feel about love at first sight, but I know their love for each other is real. It breaks my heart that they didn’t break the system and have a happy ending.

But at the same time, if they didn’t die at the end, I wouldn’t have cried under my covers and put my own life into perspective. I wouldn't have learned to live my life and take risks like there’s no tomorrow. Because tomorrow might not come.

As far as the message goes, I love it. It does frustrate me that Mateo learned to live and found love on his End Day because he’s so pure and deserves all the happiness. But I love the theme of having one last chance to make it right and taking it.

I felt like I was there with them every step of the way. Experiencing it with them. From the character’s first hello, to their last moments together I felt connected to them. Like I’ve known them my whole life. And that makes the ending harder for me.

Overall, this book is raw and delicious. I have a lot of respect for this book. It changed my life and it’s definitely my favorite book of all time. I hope this book touches everyone who reads it. Just like it did me.

rvye ,

Lovely

It was a good book that had expanded my views on certain things—life and death and such. I had experienced so many emotions and while reading I was hoping that the title was misleading cause I had grown attached the the characters. I didn’t think I would originally like it because of the fact that the title gives away the ending however at the end it was a lovely story put together wonderfully. Needless to say I very much recommend it.

Kayla Leilani ,

Absolutely. Amazing

Ok, so I am just a sucker for YA romance or any for that matter, and going into this I just saw the title and was immediately intrigued... I figured woah like that title is insanely deep, I have to read it.. halfway through I am just absolutely in love with these characters and I feel so connected to them!! Showing where they come from, especially Rufus, shows the importance of understanding the people around you.. and don’t even get me started on the last sentence.. JUST AMAZING!! DEFINITELY RECOMMEND 😭

More Books by Adam Silvera