• $4.99

Publisher Description

Two years after the murder of his daughter, Governor Duncan Cochrane must hunt down a sniper and a blackmailer.

Terez Lyle says: "Another fast-paced, can't-put-down book by David Hagerty. Like his first book, he keeps you guessing what will happen and then bring you an unexpected "I didn't see that coming" ending. This book is another winner!"

Two years have passed since the murder of Duncan Cochrane's daughter. As governor, he now holds the power to punish all criminals, yet he cannot prosecute her killer without destroying his political career.

Then two new threats emerge: a sniper begins targeting people in Chicago's most notorious housing project, Cabrini Green; and a blackmailer plans to reveal his ruinous family secret.

To protect his own family and those he governs, he moves into the tenements and begins parallel manhunts for both enemies. Along the way, he faces menacing gangs, a mysterious layman, indifferent police, and self-serving politicians, all of whom impede his investigations.

Theresa O'Loughlin says: "From the beautifully written opening chapter describing the sniping murder of a young boy in Cabrini Green, to the protagonist's moving into Cabrini Green in order to investigate the sniping (which is based on real events), to the ultimate satisfying, but not entirely happy, resolution, the writing rings of reality and truth. It draws the reader emotionally forward, and also conveys a terrific sense of time and place."

EVOLVED PUBLISHING PRESENTS the second book in the series detailing Duncan Cochrane's rise to prominence and the personal cost of his public ambitions. [DRM-Free]

The "Duncan Cochrane" Series by David Hagerty:
Book 1: They Tell Me You Are WickedBook 2: They Tell Me You Are CrookedBook 3: They Tell Me You Are BrutalBook 4: They Tell Me You Are Cunning
More Great Crime Thrillers from Evolved Publishing:
The Oz Files Series by Barry MetcalfA Point Thriller Series by Jeff AltabefForgive Me, Alex by Lane DiamondThe Syndicate-Born Trilogy Series by K.M. Hodge

Mysteries & Thrillers
September 24
Evolved Publishing LLC
Draft2Digital, LLC

More Books by David Hagerty

Other Books in This Series