• $10.99

Publisher Description

**A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER**

From rising star Jessica Goodman, author of They Wish They Were Us, comes a new fast-paced thriller about two sisters vying for the top spot on their cross-country team—until a teammate’s disappearance throws their lives off course.
 
"An utter page-turner. Goodman's voice is razor-sharp and keenly precise. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn!" Tiffany D. Jackson NYT Bestselling Author of White Smoke and Grown


Stella and Ellie Steckler are only a year apart, but their different personalities make their relationship complicated. Stella is single-minded, driven, and she keeps to herself. Cross-country running is her life and she won't let anything get in the way of being the best. Her sister Ellie is a talented runner too, but she also lets herself have fun. She has friends. She goes to parties. She has a life off the course.

The sisters do have one thing in common, though: the new girl, Mila Keene. Both Stecklers' lives are upended when Mila comes to town. At first, Ellie and Stella view the new star athlete as a threat. But soon Ellie can't help but be drawn to her warm, charming personality. After her best friend moved away and her first boyfriend betrayed her, Ellie's been looking for a friend to share her secrets. Stella finds herself noticing the ways she and Mila are similar. Mila is smart and strong--she's someone Stella can finally connect with. As the two get closer, Stella becomes something she vowed she'd never be: distracted.

With regionals approaching and college scouts taking notice, the pressure is on. Each girl has their future on the line and they won't let friendships get in their way. But then, suddenly, Mila goes out on a training run and never returns. No one knows what happened, but all eyes are on the Steckler sisters.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2021
July 27
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Young Readers Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
3.4
MB

Customer Reviews

amandax345 ,

🏃🏼‍♀️🏃🏼‍♀️🏃🏼‍♀️

A great book! So many twists and turns!

eladiolymari ,

Powerful YA thriller!

4.5 stars! Powerful thriller that centers around the lives of female athletes in a small town where being a female cross country runner could end in death. Several cold cases made the town, and the girls’ chosen sport, infamous. I loved the focus put on the way girls are treated differently because of their gender. This book definitely opens up a conversation about how easily the actions of a girl can be twisted into something they’re not, and how often female voices are ignored or pushed aside. This was suspenseful and beautifully written, with great LGBTQ+ and minority representation. Really enjoyed the author’s take on the intricacies of being a teenage girl, all the pressures that come with it, and how the bonds of sisterhood are tested to a breaking point. This book was a wild ride that kept me guessing until the very end!

*I received an ARC prior to release in exchange for my honest review.

More Books by Jessica Goodman