Those Empty Eyes Those Empty Eyes

Those Empty Eyes

A Chilling Novel of Suspense with a Shocking Twist

    • 4.3 • 208 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

"Draws readers in from the first heart-stopping pages and doesn't let go until the end." – Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of Local Woman Missing

The bestselling author of Twenty Years Later and master of modern suspense is back with a brilliantly twisting, skillfully plotted thriller perfect for fans of Jeneva Rose and Colleen Hoover’s Verity.
 
Alex Armstrong has changed everything about herself—her name, her appearance, her backstory. She’s no longer the terrified teenager a rapt audience saw on television, emerging in handcuffs from the quiet suburban home the night her family was massacred. That girl, Alexandra Quinlan, nicknamed Empty Eyes by the media, was accused of the killings, fought to clear her name, and later took the stand during her highly publicized defamation lawsuit that captured the attention of the nation.
 
It’s been ten years since, and Alex hasn’t stopped searching for answers about the night her family was killed, even as she continues to hide her real identity from true crime fanatics and grasping reporters still desperate to locate her. As a legal investigator, she works tirelessly to secure justice for others, too. People like Matthew Claymore, who’s under suspicion in the disappearance of his girlfriend, a student journalist named Laura McAllister.
 
Laura was about to break a major story about rape and cover-ups on her college campus. Alex believes Matthew is innocent, and unearths stunning revelations about the university’s faculty, fraternity members, and powerful parents willing to do anything to protect their children.
 
Most shocking of all—as Alex digs into Laura’s disappearance, she realizes there are unexpected connections to the murder of her own family. For as different as the crimes may seem, they each hinge on one sinister truth: no one is quite who they seem to be . . .

“Engrossing…not to be missed.” – Publishers Weekly STARRED REVIEW

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2023
March 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
Kensington Books
SELLER
Kensington Publishing Corp.
SIZE
1.8
MB

Customer Reviews

xxjjnono ,

Those Empty Eyes

Enjoyed this book quite a bit — until the end. I don’t want to spoil it so I will just say that something was revealed near the end and then ignored completely.

mommabear182022 ,

Thriller

This book keeps you on the edge of your seat with SHOCKING events emerging around every corner! Must read!!

Romance213 ,

My new favorite author!!

“Those Empty Eyes” is one of the best books I have ever read!! I loved the intriguing storyline that went back and forth from 2013 to the present and as far back as 1981 where the secrets and lies first started. I began reading late one night and I quickly found myself following along with Alex as she connected the crimes and followed the clues. I was impressed with the storyboard she created with all the information she had gathered over the years concerning the murder of her family. I admired her ability to persevere among the haters and the onslaught of media vying for her story.

She found her niche as an investigator with a law firm which helped her get to the bottom of the mystery surrounding the worst day of her life, and what she found was not for the faint of heart. Every time she took a chance skirting the law to gain information, I was afraid she would get caught, but she never did. I was surprised that so much in Alex’s life now, was somehow associated with the grisly murders of her parents and younger brother. Her journey to find the truth was filled with edge of your seat danger, twisted secrets and a shocking ending that was so hard to believe, I had to read it twice. Charlie Donlea is a brilliant writer who knows how to keep his readers guessing until the very end.

More Books Like This

Her Last Breath (A Rachel Gift FBI Suspense Thriller—Book 6) Her Last Breath (A Rachel Gift FBI Suspense Thriller—Book 6)
2022
The Perfect Suspect The Perfect Suspect
2011
Away From Here (A Nina Veil FBI Suspense Thriller—Book 1) Away From Here (A Nina Veil FBI Suspense Thriller—Book 1)
2024
Stolen Ones Stolen Ones
2021
Discretion Discretion
2012
When We Fall When We Fall
2022

More Books by Charlie Donlea

Some Choose Darkness Some Choose Darkness
2019
Twenty Years Later Twenty Years Later
2021
Long Time Gone Long Time Gone
2024
The Girl Who Was Taken The Girl Who Was Taken
2018
The Suicide House The Suicide House
2020
Summit Lake Summit Lake
2017

Customers Also Bought

What Have We Done What Have We Done
2023
Between Two Strangers Between Two Strangers
2023
All the Dark Places All the Dark Places
2022
To Tell You the Truth To Tell You the Truth
2020
The Cage The Cage
2022
Goodnight Beautiful Goodnight Beautiful
2020