Thunder At Dawn

An unputdownable naval adventure

    • 4.1 • 29 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

A heart-pounding First World War naval thriller featuring the rebel Captain Cochrane Smith.

1917: After three years, the outcome of the Great War is poised on a knife-edge. David Cochrane Smith, captain of the armoured cruiser HMS Thunder, is patrolling off the coast of South America. But then he attacks and sinks the Gerda, a neutral ship in a neutral port.

Smith already has a reputation as a maverick and now he faces professional ruin. But he is certain he was right, that the Gerda was one of two ships masquerading under neutral flags that are in fact supply vessels for the mighty German warships, Kondor and Wolf.

Only an outdated cruiser and a young captain prepared to break all the rules stand in their way…

Thunder At Dawn is an edge-of-the-seat naval adventure that combines thrilling story-telling with meticulous research, perfect for readers of Alexander Fullerton, Julian Stockwin and Philip McCutchan.

Praise for Alan Evans
'I think a 21 gun salute is required…Alan Evans has produced a cracking thriller' Daily Mirror
'Evans provides a different sea story, sustained suspense and vivid battle scenes' Publishers Weekly

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
September 24
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
319
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
2.3
MB

Customer Reviews

S. F. Feldmann ,

Quite a Page Turner!

“Thunder At Dawn” certainly sweeps the reader along in its wake. The story of World War One in the southern Pacific is something that many readers will know little about, so Alan Evans educates as well as excites.

The pace is almost too fast. Characters are a bit under baked, and the plot line is so fast-moving that it is easy to lose track of the details. But, all in all, a satisfying read for a lover of naval fiction.

BQ72 ,

Please get a decent editor!!!

Would be SO much better if the writer had a decent editor. Poorly checked. Typos, missing commas, run-on and badly constructed sentences, misspelled words etc detracted from what could have been a good yarn.

More Books by Alan Evans

2018
2018
2018
2018
2018
2018

Customers Also Bought

2017
2019
2019
2017
2017
2017

Other Books in This Series

2018
2018
2018
2018
2018
2018