Book 2 - The Wish Series

To Catch a Dream

A Novel

    • 4.4 • 29 Ratings
    • $14.99
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

Audrey Carlan has created a gem of a story about sisterhood, love, and second chances.” —Lexi Ryan on What the Heart Wants

A heartwarming, wry and deeply emotional story of the power of sisterhood, trusting your heart and finding forever.

“Think big. Live out loud.”

When their mother passed away a decade ago, Evie Ross and her sister, Suda Kaye, were each left a stack of letters, one to be opened every year on their birthday. While the letters encouraged Suda Kaye’s wanderlust, taking her away from Evie for years, their free-spirited mother’s wish for her more cautious daughter was to discover what her heart truly desires. But steadfast Evie discovered long ago that wishes rarely come true. A successful life stems from planning, building a stable career—and keeping your heart guarded at all costs.

Now, with her sister home again, Evie’s life can finally return to normal, until the one person she’s been avoiding is suddenly everywhere. Milo Chavis is the only man Evie’s ever wanted with all her heart, her desire for him matched only by the shock that he might want her, too. But if Evie’s learned anything over the years, it’s that you can’t count on people to stick around.

Overwhelmed, Evie retreats to the security she’s worked hard to build, but when a monumental family secret upends her whole world, Evie is forced to follow her heart and trust it will lead her right where she belongs.

Don’t miss On the Sweet Side,the next book in Audrey Carlan's The Wish series! With the emotional pull of Susan Wiggs' and Robyn Carr’s engaging family dramas, On the Sweet Side is a sassy and emotional strangers-to-sisters story about the enduring power of family-both the one you're born with and the one you choose.

The Wish Series
Book 1: What the Heart Wants
Book 2: To Catch a Dream
Book 3: On the Sweet Side

Fiction & Literature
March 9
HQN Books
Harlequin Digital Sales Corporation

Customer Reviews

kaykaybean13 ,

Adored this 2nd installation of the series

These two sisters are as different as night and day yet have an unquestionable bond that’s been solidified since their wanderlust mother had traveled anywhere her heart desired leaving the girls on the reservation with their Mothers family and while their father remained, waiting as long and as insufferable it would be for their mother to come back- they’d spend sometimes months upon months playing happy family until she up and left again. When they came of age both reading the letters their now deceased mom wrote them for each bday up to their love of life engagement wedding birth of their own family etc these sisters were given opposite advice that their mother who hadn’t been in their lives as general mothers were she without doubt and sheer conviction knew her own little girls. One works even say she understood her two better than a stay at home mom that was present 24/7 365. It was inherently beautiful and was an amazing testament to intuition instinct and using quality time to observe, get to know and unconditionally love her own vs the quantity that most of moms spent with their own. Most couldn’t compete with the intimate and uncanny comprehension she knew of her girls.

Samantha B. Sokol ,

The emotions in this book are off the charts!

The emotions in this book are off the charts! After taking on the caretaker role in her family because her mother constantly traveled and left and she was the older of the two, Evie struggled after her mother passed away and her sister moved away and took on the vagabond life their mother did. Latching onto the stack of letters her mother wrote as she was dying for each birthday, holiday, and milestone in her life, she lives for the advice from her mother any way she can get it. When Evie’s childhood crush Milo takes notice of Evie and decides to go after her and attempt a relationship, she runs the other way as fast as possible. It seems like there is a lot missing that we learn in the previous book about why she initially is reluctant towards Milo’s advances even though she’s been in love with him for a long time, but I think a lot of it stems from her childhood and not fitting in with the culture that she grew up in because she was half Native American and half Caucasian and favored her father’s side in looks. Thankfully, Milo doesn’t back down and also sticks up for Evie, which we find is something he’s done since meeting her in childhood, and we also find out why he didn’t initially go after her when he had all the feelings he does for so long. Personally, I wish that I would’ve gone back and read the first book because I feel it would answer a lot of questions for me, but overall I enjoyed this book and could feel Evie’s feelings, pain and all, through each page.
I voluntarily read and reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.

karak stl ,

Great book

This is the second book in Audrey Carlan’s Wish series. It is a standalone, but reading the first book would add to the story. Evie has always been the caretaker, especially for her sister Suda Kaye. She doesn’t trust easy and when her long time crush, Milo, makes his intentions on making her his known, she once again doesn’t trust it. This series is differ than Audrey’s typical romance. It is more in the women’s fiction, but it definitely still has her heat. I loved this book and watching Milo convince Evie that what they had was real and solid. I also loved watching Evie and her sister work through their relationship. There are also some twists and turns that in the end just makes you smile. This book also focuses on Natvie American culture,which I found added to the story and made it more interesting. Great book.

More Books Like This


More Books by Audrey Carlan


Customers Also Bought


Other Books in This Series