To Have and to Hoax To Have and to Hoax
Book 1 - The Regency Vows

To Have and to Hoax

A Novel

    • 3.7 • 148 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

Named a Best Romance of April by Goodreads, Popsugar, Bustle, and more!

“A laugh out loud Regency romp—if you loved the Bridgertons, you’ll adore To Have and to Hoax!” —Lauren Willig, New York Times bestselling author

In this fresh and hilarious historical rom-com, an estranged husband and wife in Regency England feign accidents and illness in an attempt to gain attention—and maybe just win each other back in the process.

Five years ago, Lady Violet Grey and Lord James Audley met, fell in love, and got married. Four years ago, they had a fight to end all fights, and have barely spoken since.

Their once-passionate love match has been reduced to one of cold, detached politeness. But when Violet receives a letter that James has been thrown from his horse and rendered unconscious at their country estate, she races to be by his side—only to discover him alive and well at a tavern, and completely unaware of her concern. She’s outraged. He’s confused. And the distance between them has never been more apparent.

Wanting to teach her estranged husband a lesson, Violet decides to feign an illness of her own. James quickly sees through it, but he decides to play along in an ever-escalating game of manipulation, featuring actors masquerading as doctors, threats of Swiss sanitariums, faux mistresses—and a lot of flirtation between a husband and wife who might not hate each other as much as they thought. Will the two be able to overcome four years of hurt or will they continue to deny the spark between them?

With charm, wit, and heart in spades, To Have and to Hoax is a fresh and eminently entertaining romantic comedy—perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory and Julia Quinn.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
April 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atria Books
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Digital Sales LLC
SIZE
4.4
MB

Customer Reviews

breiev ,

Great Series

I really enjoyed this period romance series! I actually read the 2nd book first on accident. I would say the second book was my favorite, but they are all good reads…wishing there were more!

Mcarol2019 ,

Overall disappointing

Very childish and dull and repetitive plot.

havynguyen ,

So tedious

I thought the premise of an already married estranged couple finding their way back to each other was very promising and different, but the execution was so poor. The writer's style is repetitive and overly fussy even for the Regency era. The romantic leads are annoying and one-dimensional. The side characters aren't very compelling either. Really disappointing as the plots of all the books in this series seem so fun and unique but I don't think they'll be worth the money.

More Books Like This

One Winter's Night One Winter's Night
2014
Mask of Duplicity Mask of Duplicity
2015
Knaves' Wager Knaves' Wager
1991
A Midwinter Ball A Midwinter Ball
2016
Once a Dreamer Once a Dreamer
2009
Wed Him Before You Bed Him Wed Him Before You Bed Him
2009

More Books by Martha Waters

To Love and to Loathe To Love and to Loathe
2021
To Marry and to Meddle To Marry and to Meddle
2022
To Woo and to Wed To Woo and to Wed
2024
To Swoon and to Spar To Swoon and to Spar
2023
Christmas Is All Around Christmas Is All Around
2024
In amore e in guerra In amore e in guerra
2024

Customers Also Bought

A Rogue of One's Own A Rogue of One's Own
2020
Portrait of a Scotsman Portrait of a Scotsman
2021
Never Fall for Your Fiancee Never Fall for Your Fiancee
2021
The Gentleman's Gambit The Gentleman's Gambit
2023
A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem
2020
Bringing Down the Duke Bringing Down the Duke
2019

Other Books in This Series

To Love and to Loathe To Love and to Loathe
2021
To Marry and to Meddle To Marry and to Meddle
2022
To Swoon and to Spar To Swoon and to Spar
2023
To Woo and to Wed To Woo and to Wed
2024