• $14.99

Publisher Description

A missing Chinese scientist, unexplained noises emanating from under the Arctic ice, and a possible mole in American intelligence are just some of the problems that plague President Jack Ryan in the latest entry in Tom Clancy's #1 New York Times bestselling series.

Aboard an icebreaker in the Arctic Ocean a sonar operator hears an unusual noise coming from the ocean floor. She can't isolate it and chalks the event up to an anomaly in a newly installed system.

Meanwhile, operatives with the Chinese Ministry of State Security are dealing with their own mystery--the disappearance of brilliant but eccentric scientist, Liu Wangshu. They're desperate to keep his crucial knowledge of aerospace and naval technology out of their rivals' hands.

Finding Liu is too great an opportunity for any intelligence service to pass up, but there's one more problem. A high-level Chinese mole, codenamed Surveyor, has managed to infiltrate American Intelligence. President Jack Ryan has only one choice: send John Clark and his Campus team deep into China to find an old graduate student of the professor's who may hold the key to his whereabouts. It's a dangerous gamble, but with John Clark holding the cards, Jack Ryan is all in.

Mysteries & Thrillers
November 17
Penguin Publishing Group

Customer Reviews


Too short. Not up to Clancy standards

The story read like the author was in a hurry to get finished. Too many characters and not enough time to really get them involved in the story. Results were too easy for all the characters and nobody really had a decent story. Could have been a good story if it had time to develop better. Disappointing

Bob-tx ,

Wish it was better

Felt like I was reading 4 books at once with no apparent connection of the story lines until the very end. Could hardly tell it was a Jack Ryan novel until about 2/3 through.

GDubs321 ,

Not on par with the preceding Jack Ryan books

The story was solid but for the first time in a jack ryan story a lot of detail in each sub plot was missing. There just wasn’t enough content for each of the sub plots. Should have been about 100 pages longer.

More Books by Marc Cameron