Transcendence Transcendence

Transcendence

How Humans Evolved through Fire, Language, Beauty, and Time

    • 5.0 • 4 Ratings
    • $17.99
    • $17.99

Publisher Description

In the tradition of Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, a winner of the Royal Society Prize for Science Books shows how four tools enabled has us humans to control the destiny of our species
"A wondrous, visionary work." --Tim Flannery, scientist and author of the bestselling The Weather Makers
What enabled us to go from simple stone tools to smartphones? How did bands of hunter-gatherers evolve into multinational empires? Readers of Sapiens will say a cognitive revolution -- a dramatic evolutionary change that altered our brains, turning primitive humans into modern ones -- caused a cultural explosion. In Transcendence, Gaia Vince argues instead that modern humans are the product of a nuanced coevolution of our genes, environment, and culture that goes back into deep time. She explains how, through four key elements -- fire, language, beauty, and time -- our species diverged from the evolutionary path of all other animals, unleashing a compounding process that launched us into the Space Age and beyond. Provocative and poetic, Transcendence shows how a primate took dominion over nature and turned itself into something marvelous.

GENRE
Science & Nature
RELEASED
2020
January 21
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Basic Books
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
3.8
MB

More Books Like This

Wired for Culture: Origins of the Human Social Mind Wired for Culture: Origins of the Human Social Mind
2012
A Hunter-Gatherer's Guide to the 21st Century A Hunter-Gatherer's Guide to the 21st Century
2021
The Social Conquest of Earth The Social Conquest of Earth
2012
Ways of Being Ways of Being
2022
Nonzero Nonzero
2000
This View of Life This View of Life
2019

More Books by Gaia Vince

Nomad Century Nomad Century
2022
Adventures in the Anthropocene Adventures in the Anthropocene
2014
El siglo nómada El siglo nómada
2024
Stulecie nomadów. Jak wędrówki ludów zmienią świat Stulecie nomadów. Jak wędrówki ludów zmienią świat
2024
Stulecie nomadów Stulecie nomadów
2024
Il secolo nomade Il secolo nomade
2023

Customers Also Bought

Life's Edge Life's Edge
2021
Some Assembly Required Some Assembly Required
2020
The Next Great Migration The Next Great Migration
2020
A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth
2021
Shape Shape
2021
Kindred Kindred
2020