Ventus Ventus
Ventus

Ventus

    • 4.4 • 8 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

Ventus is a large-scale Hard SF adventure novel in the tradition of Larry Niven, Vernor Vinge, and Arthur C. Clarke. Karl Schroeder, a physicist and writer, is a winner of Canada's Aurora Award. His first novel was called the best first fantasy of the year by Science Fiction Chronicle, and now his first SF novel launches a major career in SF.

Young Jordan Mason, on the terraformed planet Ventus, has visions. Kidnapped by Calandria May--a human from offworld sent to investigate the AIs (the Winds) of Ventus--Jordan is desperate to find the meaning of his visions, desperate enough to risk calling down the Winds that destroy technology to protect the created environment, who descend and wreak havoc. As a result Jordan escapes from Calandria and sets out to discover his destiny on his own. Calandria and others, both human and AI, search for Jordan, who holds the key to catastrophe or salvation.

Ventus is an epic journey across a fascinating planet with a big mystery--why have the Winds fallen silent? It is one of the major, ambitious SF novels of the year and the international launch of an important new hard SF writer.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2001
November 19
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
512
Pages
PUBLISHER
Tor Publishing Group
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
583
KB

More Books Like This

Fantastic Stories Presents: Fantasy Super Pack #1 Fantastic Stories Presents: Fantasy Super Pack #1
2014
Sword & Magic Sword & Magic
2019
DEL REY AND BANTAM BOOKS 2014 SAMPLER DEL REY AND BANTAM BOOKS 2014 SAMPLER
2014
To Green Angel Tower To Green Angel Tower
1993
The Magic Kingdom of Landover  Volume 2 The Magic Kingdom of Landover  Volume 2
2009
Unbound Unbound
1975

More Books by Karl Schroeder

The Million The Million
2018
Lady of Mazes Lady of Mazes
2006
Permanence Permanence
2003
Virga: Cities of the Air Virga: Cities of the Air
2010
Stealing Worlds Stealing Worlds
2019
Sun of Suns Sun of Suns
2007

Customers Also Bought

Starfish Starfish
2014
Titanium Noir Titanium Noir
2023
Burn Cycle Burn Cycle
2020
Translation State Translation State
2023
Cry Pilot Cry Pilot
2019
Pushing Ice Pushing Ice
2020

Other Books in This Series