• $2.99

Publisher Description

A Top 10 Apple Books Bestseller from a New York Times Bestselling Author!


England, 1673: The Ashcroft family motto is "Question Convention," and eldest sister Violet agrees with the sentiment completely. For one thing, she's not planning to marry. Plain Violet is smart enough to realize any suitors would be after her large inheritance, or else interested in her beautiful younger sisters—and she'd much rather spend her time improving her mind than risking her tender heart...


Having wasted six years wooing a lady who eloped with another man, Ford Chase, Viscount Lakefield, has had it with women. Ford would much rather spend his time pursuing the sciences and constructing the first watch with a minute hand. Having his young niece dropped in his lap proves an unwelcome, annoying distraction...until an uncommonly intelligent neighbor named Violet comes to help...


BOOK DETAILS



A complete, standalone story—no cliffhangers!


Series: Chase Family Series: The Flowers, Book 1

Style: Humorous historical romance

Length: 105,000 words (about 415 standard pages)

Bonus Material: Author’s Note, preview of next book, link to giveaway

R-rated Content: Steamy love scenes!


AWARDS


Top 10 Bestseller on Apple Books
Rose Award Nominee



REVIEWS


"A captivating historical romance. Fans of Julia Quinn and Tessa Dare will love Lauren Royal!"

—Glynnis Campbell, USA Today Bestselling Author


"This delectable romp is sure to be just the confection readers need for a sweet night's read…guaranteed to charm."

Romantic Times


"You won't want to put Violet down until you reach the end."

Romance Reviews Today


"Fans of Amanda Quick will find this romantic pair to be exactly their cup of tea."

Huntress Book Reviews


CONNECTING BOOKS


While VIOLET can be read as a stand-alone novel, many readers enjoy reading it as part of a series. All of Lauren's books feature Chase family members. Should you wish to read them in chronological order, this is the sequence:


Chase Family Series: The Jewels

1666 - AMETHYST (Colin & Amy)

1667 - EMERALD (Jason & Caithren)

1667 - FOREVERMORE (Cameron & Clarice)

1668 - AMBER (Trick & Kendra)


Chase Family Series: The Flowers

1673 - VIOLET (Ford & Violet)

1677 - LILY (Rand & Lily)

1677 - ROSE (Kit & Rose)

1651 - A SECRET CHRISTMAS (Joseph & Chrystabel)


Chase Family Series: The Regency

1815 - LOST IN TEMPTATION (Tristan & Alexandra)

1816 - TEMPTING JULIANA (James & Juliana)

1817 - THE ART OF TEMPTATION (Sean & Corinna + Griffin & Rachael)


Chase Family Series: The Renaissance

1549 - ALICE BETROTHED (Adam & Alice)


Specially Priced Boxed Sets

CHASE FAMILY SERIES: THE JEWELS COLLECTION

CHASE FAMILY SERIES: THE FLOWERS COLLECTION

CHASE FAMILY SERIES: THE COMPLETE JEWELS & FLOWERS COLLECTION

CHASE FAMILY SERIES: THE REGENCY COLLECTION


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


LAUREN ROYAL decided to become a writer at the age of eight, after winning a “Why My Mother is the Greatest” essay contest. Now she’s a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of humorous historical romance novels. Lauren lives in Southern California with her family and their constantly shedding cat. She still thinks her mother is the greatest.


Visit Lauren’s website at LaurenRoyal.com, where you can learn about the real people and real places in her books, enter a contest, sign up for her newsletter, and see the ever-growing branches of the Chase Family Tree.


Join Lauren on...


Facebook Group: facebook.com/groups/ChaseFamilyReaders

Facebook Profile: facebook.com/readLaurenRoyal

Facebook Page: facebook.com/LaurenRoyal

Twitter: twitter.com/readLaurenRoyal (@readLaurenRoyal)

Pinterest: pinterest.com/LaurenRoyal

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2012
April 23
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Novelty Books
SELLER
Novelty Publishers LLC
SIZE
2.9
MB

Customer Reviews

Stl13367 ,

Cute story

A little long in some places. I loved the historical aspect of the story. The depth of characters was nice.

Zanaalla ,

Violet

What a great amazing book .. I’m in love with Ford.. I ended this book with tears. Thank you Lauren Royal 💕

Unka Charles ,

Ford & Violet's Story

After reading Lauren Royal's Jewel Trilogy, I was hooked. With "Violet" I have begun the Flower Trilogy. Though the "Violet" plot is not as intricate as those of the Amethyst, Emerald, and Amber novels in the Jewel Trilogy, I found it sensual, sweet, and humorous.

I love the hero in "Violet." Ford Chase, a spoiled, youngest brother of three older siblings (whose stories are in the Jewel Trilogy) is not used to having any responsibilities. The laugh-out-loud part is when he takes his five-year-old niece to his home for weeks while measles rage in her home. Being a young bachelor (and somewhat of a rake), Ford is not used to being around children. The fun begins. This adorable little girl intrudes on his life-long obsession with science, but he soon comes to care for her.

Ford falls for his neighbor: soon-to-be-21-years old, plain Violet who is intelligent but doesn't think a handsome man like him could love and want to marry her for herself--but only for her inheritance. Because Ford--being a younger son--is poor, most of their story deals with her confusion (which eventually becomes somewhat tedious).

Violet and her family are unconventional for 17th century English peers and also provide some humor.

Readers may want to read the books in the order they were written to better appreciate "Violet." I gave it only 4 stars because I liked the Jewels better. An avid reader of historical romance, I am only recently a Lauren Royal fan.

More Books by Lauren Royal

Other Books in This Series