• $9.99

Publisher Description

Arnaldur Indridason took the international crime fiction scene by storm after winning England's CWA Gold Dagger Award for Silence of the Grave. Now, with the highly anticipated Voices, this world-class sensation treats American readers to another extraordinary Inspector Erlendur Sveinsson thriller.

The Christmas rush is at its peak in a grand Reykjavík hotel when Inspector Erlendur Sveinsson is called in to investigate a murder. The hotel Santa has been stabbed, and Erlendur and his detective colleagues have no shortage of suspects between hotel staff and the international travelers staying for the holidays.

But then a shocking secret surfaces. As Christmas Day approaches, Erlendur must deal with his difficult daughter, pursue a possible romantic interest, and untangle a long-buried web of malice and greed to find the murderer.

One of Indridason's most accomplished works to date, Voices is sure to win him a multitude of new American suspense fans.

Mysteries & Thrillers
September 2
St. Martin's Press

Customer Reviews

ronozer ,

Another terrific mystery from Iceland

This is terrific writing, with a lot of depth and pathos and some humor. It is hard to stop reading this series!

Faldu44 ,

The series is a novel in itself with Erlendur at its center

I began with Jar City and was enthralled by the murder mystery itself, but when I read the second novel, Silence of the Grave, I was hooked on the characters of Ernaldur, the lonely detective, and his tragic and dysfunctional daughter Eva Lind. Each novel reveals more of Erlandur's past and contributes to our understanding of how he could have been so uncaring of his children after his divorce. In Voices we are taken further in his story and in the relationship he has with his daughter. And throughout all of the stories it is the scars of family life and upbringing that precipitate the tragedies of the crimes.

Sounds dark and depressing? Not at all. The writing carries you along in these most human of stories, lessons on life, with tales that surprise. Magic! Start with Jar City, and you'll be hooked.


More Books by Arnaldur Indriðason & Bernard Scudder

Other Books in This Series