Walking With Gorillas Walking With Gorillas

Walking With Gorillas

The Journey of an African Wildlife Vet

    • 4.3 • 4 Ratings
    • $19.99
    • $19.99

Publisher Description

An Inspiring Memoir, for Fans of Jane Goodall, Dian Fossey, and Frans De Waal.

In her enchanting memoir, Dr. Gladys Kalema-Zikusoka, Uganda’s first wildlife veterinarian, tells the remarkable story from her animal-loving childhood to her career protecting endangered mountain gorillas and other wild animals. She is also the defender of people as a groundbreaking promoter of human public health and an advocate for revolutionary integrated approaches to saving our planet. In an increasingly interconnected world, animal and human health alike depend on sustainable solutions and Dr. Gladys has developed an innovative approach to conservation among the endangered Mountain Gorillas of Bwindi Impenetrable Forest and their human neighbors.

Walking with Gorillas takes the reader on an incredible personal journey with Dr. Gladys, from her early days as a student in Uganda, enduring the assassination of her father during a military coup, to her veterinarian education in England to establishing the first veterinary department for the Ugandan government to founding one of the first organizations in the world that enables people to coexist with wildlife through improving the health and wellbeing of both. Her award-winning approach reduced the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on critically endangered mountain gorillas.

In the face of discrimination and a male dominated world, one woman’s passion and determination to build a brighter future for the local wildlife and human community offers inspiration and insights into what is truly possible for our planet when we come together.
 

GENRE
Science & Nature
RELEASED
2023
March 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
350
Pages
PUBLISHER
Arcade
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Digital Sales LLC
SIZE
28.9
MB

More Books Like This

In the Kingdom of Gorillas In the Kingdom of Gorillas
2012
The Chimpanzee Whisperer The Chimpanzee Whisperer
2022
Wild Lives Wild Lives
2017
Hope for Animals and Their World Hope for Animals and Their World
2009
The Ragged Edge of the World The Ragged Edge of the World
2011
The Elephants of Thula Thula The Elephants of Thula Thula
2023

Customers Also Bought

The Chimpanzee Whisperer The Chimpanzee Whisperer
2022
Songs of the Baka and Other Discoveries Songs of the Baka and Other Discoveries
2017
The Cowboy and His Elephant The Cowboy and His Elephant
2007
Empire Antarctica Empire Antarctica
2013
Jane Goodall Jane Goodall
2014
Mornings with Barney Mornings with Barney
2009