• $9.99

Publisher Description

From the #1 bestselling author of the beloved Calendar Girl books comes the first in a witty, wise and emotionally compelling new series, where coming home is just the beginning…

“Fly free.”

For ten years those words, written on pink parchment paper in her mother’s beautiful handwriting, have been Suda Kaye Ross’s guiding star. Every year on her birthday, Suda Kaye opens another of the letters her mother penned before she passed, heeding the advice inside as she fills her life with experiences. From Italy to Australia, from Rio to Russia, she’s slaked her wanderlust. And then, on her twenty-eighth birthday, she opens the letter that sends her home.

Returning to Colorado means confronting everything—and everyone—she left behind, including her cherished sister, Evie, and her first love, Camden Bryant. Suda Kaye and Cam spent four years and one unforgettable night together. Given the way she ran out on him, it’s no surprise that he’s wary, resentful…and engaged to someone else. Evie, hardworking and überresponsible, just wants her sister to put down roots at last.

For Evie’s sake, and her own, Suda Kaye is trying to build a new life, all the while wondering whether it’s too late to come back home—or if the most important part of her never really left.

Fiction & Literature
July 28
HQN Books
Harlequin Digital Sales Corporation

Customer Reviews

Jill LAWF ,

an emotional, passionate, second chance romance

Wow! What to say about this heartwarming read from Audrey Carlan.

From the very first page of this book to the very last, my heart just felt this story. And I truly mean from page 1... Sisterhood and love were woven into everything from the dedication through to the acknowledgments. It was just beautiful.

What the Heart Wants is a delightful tale of coming full circle. Flying free as a teen… gaining a treasure trove of worldly experiences. Spending a decade separated from those that mean the most to her. And then coming home and realizing that you can fly free and have roots at the same time.

What the Heart Wants is an emotional, passionate, second chance romance full of wit and wonder. This is a summer must-read! The perfect book to kick back with outside and lose yourself in the beauty of the words.

More Books by Audrey Carlan

Other Books in This Series