• $3.99

Publisher Description

Thanks to their large extended family and unconventional courtship, the Worthingtons have seen their share of scandal and excitement. But nothing has prepared them for this...

The Dowager Lady Worthington isn’t quite sure what to make of country-girl Dorothea Stern. As the granddaughter of the Duke of Bristol, Dotty is schooled in the ways and means of the nobility. But her sharp wit and outspoken nature has everyone in a tizzy. Especially their cousin, Dominic, the Marquis of Merton.

Prematurely stuffy, Dom was raised by his cheerless uncle to be wary of a host of things, including innovation, waltzing, and most perilous of all: true love. Still, there’s something about Dotty, beyond her beauty, that Dom cannot resist. But the odds are against him if he intends to win her as his bride. Will he choose loyalty to his family—or risk everything for the one woman he believes is his perfect match…
 
“A classic Regency romp! Perfect for fans of Grace Burrowes.”--Caroline Linden, USA Today bestselling author

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2016
August 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Kensington
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
1.4
MB

Customer Reviews

qnidly ,

Too politically driven

The author is strongly biased toward liberal politics and that interfered with my enjoyment of a good tale. If the author had presented both sides of the argument fairly, or gave minimal concession to the opposing view point, I could have tolerated the bias.

Armik B ,

When a marquis chooses a bride

Good read enjoyed the book I was glad the Marquis came down a few steps loved the banter between the cousins I am always glad to read a new book and have characters from previous books in there. Waiting on the next in the series

glhince ,

this story has plenty of the moments I want from an Ella Quinn title.

Back with Ella Quinn to check out the characters so enjoyable in the first book of the series, although this one can be read on its own. Dorothea (Dottie or Thea) is the best friend of Grace’s sister Charlotte. Missing her best friend who now lives with her sister, Lady Worthington, she’s ready to see her friend and share their coming-out season. When Dottie’s mother is injured, Charlotte convinces her sister to offer as host to Dottie for the season. As with the first book, the family interactions with Grace and her siblings is solid and warm, and readers familiar with the first book in which they were introduced will enjoy the added humor and mayhem they bring to the story.

Dottie is smart and clever, and not known for holding her tongue. Although her bloodlines are honorable, this granddaughter of the Duke of Bristol isn’t of the ideal temperament so desired by society. She is, however, loving and loyal and quite amusing, if a bit outrageous for her time.

Dominic, the Marquis of Merton is uptight, honorable and wholly aware of his responsibilities, having had them drilled into them from childhood by his uncle. Unfortunately for him, the only woman who intrigues him is Dottie, a woman that is ‘beneath’ what his rank in society could command, and her habit of speaking her mind could be troublesome. She’s attracted but not impressed by Dom and his rather strict adherence to the rigid and rather thoughtless code of behavior instilled by his uncle. Fortunately for him, they don’t hold his political views or habitual thoughtless snobbery against him, and the season means that he and Dottie shall be in the same spaces, frequently.

Far more developed and compelling from the romance perspective than the first, the relationship of Dom and Dottie is intriguing, particularly as he starts to soften in his opinions both political and personal. The standout in this story is Dottie with her generous heart and patience to see beneath the trappings of society and composure to see the man Dom could be. With plenty of moments with the other Worthington siblings as well as the increasingly sweet and clever banter between Dom and Dottie, this story has plenty of the moments I want from an Ella Quinn title.

I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

More Books by Ella Quinn

Other Books in This Series