• $9.99

Publisher Description

Inspiring Conclusion to a Popular Series with a TV tie-in

When Beth Thatcher returns to Coal Valley, she has much to be excited about. She anticipates Jarrick's proposal of marriage and perhaps a spring wedding. The mine is expanding, and there are more schoolchildren than ever.

But the town's rapid growth brings many challenges. A second teacher is assigned, and Beth finds herself going head-to-head with a very different philosophy of education--one that dismisses religion and rejects God. Fearful for the children who sit under the influence of Robert Harris Hughes, Beth struggles to know how to respond.

At the same time, Beth wonders if Jarrick is considering a position at her father's company simply for her sake. Should she admit her feelings on the matter? Or keep silent and allow Jarrick to make up his own mind?

Fiction & Literature
August 2
Baker Publishing Group
Baker Book House Company

Customer Reviews

Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader ,

Final book in series!

Where Hope Prevails by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan is the final book in the Return to the Canadian West series. Elizabeth “Beth” Thatcher is returning to Coal Valley after being away for the summer. Beth is expecting everything and everyone to be the same, but she is in for a shock. There have been many changes to the town. Trees have been cut down to make way for new buildings. Abigail has taken over the bar for a tea house and the school will now have its own building. There are two big changes that Beth was not prepared for at all. Beth will now be staying in her own apartment over Abigail’s Tea House. Beth loved her room at Molly’s and is very sad to move. But with all the new miners and the construction boom, Molly needs Beth’s room. Plus, there is going to be a second teacher. The school board came through and so how many children were going to be attending school (several new families in town). They have hired Mr. Robert Harris Hughes, and he will be taking over Beth’s room at Molly’s boarding house. Beth has a hard time adjusting to all the changes. But there is one more change for Beth. Jack Thornton proposes to Beth (finally). They have decisions to make regarding their future. Join Beth, Molly, Marnie, Abigail, Frank, Jack and the others for another year in Coal Valley in Where Hope Prevails.

Where Hope Prevails is a lovely nice and a good conclusion to the series. Beth got on my nerves a little in this book with her doubts, skittishness, afraid to speak up, and her dislike of change. It did not seem to go with her character. Her sister, Julie is just the opposite. Julie is outgoing, loud, always on the go, and extremely annoying. Where Hope Prevails is well-written (as are all of Janette Oke’s books) and enjoyable to read. I do suggest that you read the previous books in the series (or at least have watched the show on Hallmark) prior to reading Where Hope Prevails. Otherwise, you will not understand everything that is happening. I give Where Hope Prevails 4 out of 5 stars (I liked it). The ending is sweet and will make you give a little sigh (of pleasure) when you close the book (or e-reader). The book has a good moral message. It emphasizes the importance of prayer, relying on God, how we are all flawed, and how God has a plan for us and he will nudge us in the right direction if we listen.

I received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review of the book. The comments and opinions expressed are strictly my own.

More Books by Janette Oke

Other Books in This Series