• $11.99

Publisher Description

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
August 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
4.4
MB

Customer Reviews

Phlorence Phins ,

Where the Crawdads Sing

A sensory delight. You can smell the pluff-mud, see the sky at sunset and hear the gulls, all while brushing the grainy sand off your extremities. Beautiful love story-gripping mystery. Don’t miss this one!

Bobfuz ,

Where the crawdads sing

One of the best books that I have read in a long time. I did not want it to end but I could not put it down. I felt like I was there in the marsh with Kya, such was the authors ability to paint a picture and draw me into it. This book is headed for the big screen.

dancingshay ,

Where the crawdads sing

I had a really hard time getting into this book but I am so glad I stuck with it. This novel easily makes my top 20 list. It is equally beautiful and heartfelt.

More Books by Delia Owens