• $12.99

Publisher Description

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
August 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
4.6
Mb

Customer Reviews

C_More101 ,

Maybe I Missed Something... But I Don’t Think So

This book has made me believe one thing to be absolutely true: I can no longer trust the reviews on this app.

Many of the reviews say these characters come to life, that the writing is beautiful. I’ve read a few that discuss the authors background and, when she writes about natural occurrences, the life science behind these occurrences, I do get a sense of science weaving into art and it is rather pretty to read. But the characters are cardboard. The dialogue is what makes it obvious that not only this a debut novel, but Delia Owens is not well versed in writing fiction. The dialogue is repetitive, filler content. Something along the lines of, “Kya gave the book back. Tate took the book. ‘Thanks for the book, Kya,’ he said.” Etc. I found this frustrating. Had Delia Owens had previous experience writing fiction, this novel would be a hundred pages shorter.

The plot was a little unrealistic, but I’ve never been in the 1960s and that’s why we read fiction, right? But the plot was also a little stale. The same love-triangle gone wrong story that we are used to from seeing Twilight, The Hunger Games, etc. only the supernatural has been taken out and the characters replaced with ones that don’t necessarily justify why they do what they do. A main character makes a big decision to not approach another main character about something that, up until this point, has been very important to both of them, simply because that character just “decides” to not approach with little justification, as if their mind has suddenly changed. This is prevalent throughout the novel.

This novel wasn’t terrible, and I believe Delia Owens can only get better at her fiction writing. But I will say, I have absolutely no idea how this book has gotten so much hype. If you’re looking for the next groundbreaking novel, with characters that speak like real people, and a plot that doesn’t make decisions simply for plot’s sake, look elsewhere.

Alfreda G ,

Where the Crawdads Sing

This was a great read. I started reading it without any expectations and let the book take me where it would. What a journey......I loved it.

Phlorence Phins ,

Where the Crawdads Sing

A sensory delight. You can smell the pluff-mud, see the sky at sunset and hear the gulls, all while brushing the grainy sand off your extremities. Beautiful love story-gripping mystery. Don’t miss this one!

More Books by Delia Owens