• $9.99

Publisher Description

For fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling, addictive psychological thriller about a teenage girl who cannot remember the last six weeks of her life.

Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron's senior trip to Italy was supposed to be the adventure of a lifetime. And then the accident happened. Waking up in a hospital room, her leg in a cast, stitches in her face, and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be, Jill comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident in her travels abroad. She was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident...wasn't an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life.
 

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2017
June 6
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
HMH Books
SELLER
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
SIZE
7.1
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 9 and Above

Customer Reviews

cob1331 ,

Fast-paced and thrilling!

WITH MALICE by Eileen Cook is a fast-paced and thrilling YA Mystery about a teenage girl’s journey to prove her innocence and recover her memory after a terrible accident leaves her severely injured and kills her best friend. I believe this story is very loosely inspired by what happened to Amanda Knox.

This book is FANTASTIC! I’ve had a busy couple of weeks recently… But every chance I could get, I was taking the time to read it. The way Cook builds the story is completely addictive.
Jill’s story picks up after the accident has occurred and we are given a series of flashbacks (some real, some potentially imaginary) to help us put together the pieces of the story. I thought the use of amnesia and Jill’s struggle to recover her memories one fragmented piece at a time was a brilliant tool that made for some seriously compelling storytelling. I also loved the way the author wove in police interviews, emails, texts, social media posts, newspaper articles, etc. to fill out the bigger picture.

This is the kind of book that I want to go back and read again just to see what clues I may have missed the first time around. The ending may be a bit polarizing, as it’s not crystal clear what actually happened. However, I believe the author gives you enough to decide for yourself. I appreciate that much of what you read is left up to your own interpretation. Seems fitting…

Excuse me for a moment, cause I’m about to get real cheesy up in here… But buckle up my friends, you are in for one HELL of a ride!

More Books by Eileen Cook