XOXO

    • 4.4 • 51 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

Jenny’s never had much time for boys, K-pop, or really anything besides her dream of being a professional cellist. But when she finds herself falling for a K-pop idol, she has to decide whether their love is worth the risk. A modern forbidden romance wrapped in the glamorous and exclusive world of K-pop, XOXO is perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Maurene Goo.

Jenny didn’t get to be an award-winning, classically trained cellist without choosing practice over fun. That is, until the night she meets Jaewoo. Mysterious, handsome, and just a little bit tormented, Jaewoo is exactly the kind of distraction Jenny would normally avoid. And yet, she finds herself pulled into spending an unforgettable evening wandering Los Angeles with him on the night before his flight home to South Korea.

With Jaewoo an ocean away, there’s no use in dreaming of what could have been. But when Jenny and her mother move to Seoul to take care of her ailing grandmother, who does she meet at the elite arts academy she’s just been accepted to? Jaewoo.

Finding the dreamy stranger who swept you off your feet in your homeroom is one thing, but Jaewoo isn’t just any student. Turns out, Jaewoo is a member of one of the biggest K-pop bands in the world. And like most K-pop idols, Jaewoo is strictly forbidden from dating anyone.

When a relationship means not only jeopardizing her place at her dream music school but also endangering everything Jaewoo’s worked for, Jenny has to decide once and for all just how much she’s willing to risk for love. XOXO is a new romance that proves chasing your dreams doesn’t have to mean sacrificing your heart, from acclaimed author Axie Oh. 

Indigo Best Teen Books of 2021

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2021
July 13
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperTeen
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
4.1
MB
AUDIENCE
Eighth Grade

Customer Reviews

brinna106 ,

Love

This is such a cute read!!! I loved every second of it❤️

Lauren Michele Stewart ,

I liked the arts academy setting but not the romance

I don’t consume contemporary romance on a regular basis, but I turned to “XOXO” to fill a hole left by the disappointing romance in my last read. Unfortunately I didn’t fully connect with Jaewoo and Jenny as individual characters therefore their romance did not interest me in the slightest. Jaewoo was fine but not particularly interesting; he actually reminds me of myself which makes sense because I’m pretty boring. I didn’t like Jenny’s irresponsibility every time Jaewoo was in the near vicinity, missing cello practices and cancelling plans with friends. I understand this behavior is normal for a teenage girl with a boy on her radar, but it always irks me.

Setting my romance disappointment aside, the writing is well done, and I flew through every single chapter. My favorite part was Seoul Arts Academy. I was fully invested in the goings-on at SAA and might’ve given this book a higher rating if it was centered around the school and students. I also loved all the mentions of food, even though it made me insanely hungry. Every single dish sounds delicious, and I need to find a local Korean restaurant ASAP. Those factors saved this book, bringing my rating to a total of three stars. I think “XOXO” will appeal much more to readers of this genre who are used to cute romances and young adult behavior. I can only handle so much before I’m annoyed so I’m definitely not a member of the target audience. However, the friendships and school shenanigans won my heart so I will be rereading this book in the future.

Trigger Warnings:

Dieting: In Chapter 13, eBook page 99, Angela asks why Gi Taek isn’t eating. He replies that he’s on a diet, & she remarks that he shouldn’t skip meals. On eBook Page 120, Gi Taek mentions being on a diet again.

Content Breakdown:

*Disclaimer: I am very thorough so just know that this section might contain spoilers.

Grammar & Spelling

eBook Page 75 - “ . . . having never been this situation before” instead of “. . . having never been in this situation before”

eBook Page 82 - “A familiar figures steps from the wings . . . ” instead of “A familiar figure steps from the wings . . . ”

eBook Page 184 - “An hour and half later . . .” doesn’t make as much sense as “An hour and a half later . . .”

eBook Page 193 - “ ‘Okay, now I think that everyone’s,’ Ian says . . .” instead of “ ‘Okay, now I think that’s everyone,’ Ian says . . .”

Language

B*tch - Said twice

B*llsh*t - Said once

D*ammit - Said 3 times

D*mn - Said 8 times

G*d - Said 19 times

Scr*w [everyone else] - Said once

Sh*t - Said twice

Sh*tty - Said once

Sl*t - Said twice

Religion

Chapter 27, eBook Pages 192 to 196 - During their camping trip, some of the Seoul Arts Academy students hike up the campsite mountain to a shrine dedicated to the located mountain sansin (deity).

Sensual/Sexual Moments

Chapter 16, eBook Pages 113 to 116 - While alone in a closet, Jaewoo & Jenny almost kiss before the door abruptly opens.

eBook Page 168 - Jaewoo & Jenny kiss on a swing set while alone in a park at night. On eBook page 181 Jenny says that they “made out for half an hour.”

eBook Page 177 - Sori tells Jenny that there will be very little adult supervision on the school camping trip so she might have a chance to “get into Jaewoo’s pants.”

eBook Page 208 - Kissing

eBook Page 210 - Jenny tells Jaewoo all about her first experience at a bathhouse, humorously saying her friends Angela & Sori saw more of her than her mom in recent years. He suggestively texts back “I wish I could have been there.”

eBook Page 214 - Jenny runs off to meet Jaewoo, & Gi Taek says “Have fun. Don’t get pregnant.”

eBook Page 215 - Jaewoo & Jenny hug & kiss in a fifth floor corner of the school, a blind spot from the security cameras.

eBook Page 229 - Jenny tells Sori to cover for her at the dorms because she’s staying at Jaewoo’s mother’s apartment due to the rain. Sori suggestively texts back “GET IT GIRL!!!!!”

eBook Page 231 - Jenny falls in asleep in Jaewoo’s bed. He eventually wakes her up, & she goes back to his sister Joori’s room.

eBook Page 248 - Kissing

eBook Pages 248 to 249 - Jaewoo & Jenny reserve a karaoke room for thirty minutes, Once they turn on some music, they spend the whole time kissing. Aside from removing each other’s shirts, nothing else happens.

More Books by Axie Oh

2022
2022
2022

Customers Also Bought

2020
2020
2021
2021
2021
2019