You're Welcome, Universe You're Welcome, Universe

You're Welcome, Universe

    • 4.9 • 9 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti.

Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award!

 
When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.
 
Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up.
 
Out in the ’burbs, Julia paints anywhere she can, eager to claim some turf of her own. But Julia soon learns that she might not be the only vandal in town. Someone is adding to her tags, making them better, showing off—and showing Julia up in the process. She expected her art might get painted over by cops. But she never imagined getting dragged into a full-blown graffiti war.
 
Told with wit and grit by debut author Whitney Gardner, who also provides gorgeous interior illustrations of Julia’s graffiti tags, You’re Welcome, Universe introduces audiences to a one-of-a-kind protagonist who is unabashedly herself no matter what life throws in her way.

"[A] spectacular debut...a moving, beautifully written contemporary novel full of quirky art and complicated friendships...this book is a gift to be thankful for."—BookRiot

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2017
March 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Children's Books
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
26.1
MB

More Books Like This

Forget Me Not Forget Me Not
2017
Geekerella Geekerella
2017
Verona Comics Verona Comics
2020
How to Disappear How to Disappear
2017
You Wish You Wish
2010
Fire with Fire Fire with Fire
2013

More Books by Whitney Gardner

Fake Blood Fake Blood
2018
Chaotic Good Chaotic Good
2018
Long Distance Long Distance
2021

Customers Also Bought

The Silence Between Us The Silence Between Us
2019
It's Not Like It's a Secret It's Not Like It's a Secret
2017
Leah on the Offbeat Leah on the Offbeat
2018
Tell Me How You Really Feel Tell Me How You Really Feel
2019
Crier's War Crier's War
2019
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
2015