• $4.99

Publisher Description

Named to Kirkus Reviews' Best Books of 2018 and 2019 National Indie Excellence Awards winner.

When Cici discovers a body in the forest, she's shocked to realize the victim's wounds are identical to the ones that killed her sister a year ago. Now she's embroiled in the takedown of a massive criminal operation, and the stakes couldn't be higher…

Someone murdered her sister. And shot her dog. The killer won't stop until she's dead, too.

Cici finds a dead body while hiking in the Santa Fe National Forest. The situation deteriorates when she discovers the victim bears similar stab wounds to those that ended her twin sister's life a year ago.

Then, her identical twin sister infiltrates her dreams.

All of a sudden, Cici and her dogs must dodge arrows, bullets, and even a demon truck—all while she grapples with the knowledge that her sister was on the trail of a deep-rooted criminal operation. Worse, her twin's death was much more sinister than a random act of violence.

Now, as she follows the clues her sister drops in her dreams, the criminals want Cici out of the way. Permanently.

A Pilgrimage to Death is a high-octane thriller. Fans of Ruth Ware, J.D. Robb, and Angela Marsons will love J. J. Cagney's new edge-of-your-seat novel.

★ WHY READERS CAN'T PUT DOWN REV. CICI GURULE'S MYSTERIES ★

"A wholly absorbing gumshoe tale elevated by an extraordinary detective."(Kirkus Reviews starred review)

"Vivid, alluring, and heart-wrenching, Alexa Padgett's A Pilgrimage to Death is every reason I love mystery. A breathtaking tale."—Darynda Jones, NY Times Bestselling Author

"A Pilgrimage to Death was an edge-of-my-seat thrill ride that kept me guessing all the way through. Alexa Padgett weaves an intricate and enthralling tale, with relationships that run deep, and mystery that does the same."—Allyson Lindt, USA Bestseller

"A Pilgrimage to Death is a phenomenal read from the moment you open the book on the first page to the very last page." —Jeanine, Bookbub Review

"This is an edge-of-your-seat thriller with a great storyline and multidimensional characters." —Suecolerick, Bookbub Review

"A Pilgrimage to Death is filled with a lot of unexpected twists."—Energy, Bookbub Review

"If you like Murder She Wrote and Agatha Christie, you will love this." —Lisa, Goodreads Review

"This is a must-read book, and I give it five stars." —Angela Sanders, Author of Never Again

"There are many suspects, few leads and several tense moments when Cici becomes targeted by the unknown killer."—Sheila, Goodreads Review

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
14 August
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
255
Pages
PUBLISHER
Sidecar Press, LLC
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
795.3
KB

Customer Reviews

MLCreads ,

A Pilgrimage to Death

This is a great mystery with twists and turns and just a smidgeon of romance mixed in. The characters are all great and there are lots of them, some nice, some not so nice and some more evil than you expect. Kept me guessing right to the end.

JGRuska ,

My new favourite mystery writer!

Fantastic, my new favourite mystery writer! Can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

Zoelou74 ,

Twisty Mystery

Ms Padgett delivers quirky interesting characters in a tale that will have you racing to the end! Having enjoyed her Seattle Sound series, I wasn't sure what to expect, this departure from romance suits Alexa.
I enjoyed the suspense and getting to know the intriguing Rev. Cici and Sam. I look forward to the next mystery in this series.

More Books by J. J. Cagney

Other Books in This Series