• $9.99

Publisher Description

THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT - A #1 New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly Bestseller

Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story. For readers of Where the Crawdad Sings and Orphan Train.

Born into a world of wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all. A loving daughter to her father, a US senator, with her own ambitious career as a lawyer and a handsome fiance waiting for her in Baltimore, she has lived a charmed life.

But when Avery returns to Aiken to help her father weather a health crisis and a political attack, a chance encounter with May Crandall, an elderly woman she's never met before, leaves Avery deeply shaken. Avery's decision to learn more about May's life will take her on a journey through a hidden history of stolen children and illegal adoption. A journey that will reveal a secret that could lead to devastation...or redemption.

Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

PRAISE

'Wingate is a compelling storyteller, steeping her narrative with a forward momentum that keeps the reader as engaged and curious.' - Publisher's Weekly

'It is impossible not to get swept up in this near perfect novel. It invades your heart from the very first pages and stays there long after the book is finished.' - Huffington Post

'The society seems too Dickensian to be true, except that it was, and its black-market adoption practices caused a stir in the mid-twentieth century. Wingate writes with flair, and her distinctly drawn characters and adept use of the adoption scandal will keep readers turning the pages.' - Booklist

'Lisa Wingate's heart-racing, heart-wrenching tale of a family ripped apart by the Tennessee Children's Home Society scandal, rang so true I couldn't sleep until I knew their fate. Days later, I'm still haunted by the diabolical plot to steal and sell the most vulnerable children to high bidders, sanctioned by high-ranking officials who looked the other way.' - Julie Kibler, International Bestselling Author of Calling Me Home

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2017
1 June
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Mira
SELLER
HarperCollins Australia Pty Limited
SIZE
1.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Frenchybyheart ,

Couldn’t put it down

This book was an incredible read. It had me turning pages long after bed time. My heart literally ached reading this book and at times I was in fits of sobs, but it was well written and engaging.

Blacksorrento ,

Compelling could not put it down

There is always that one person who will see and seize the opportunity to make money out of other peoples misfortunes, such a person was Georgia Tann.
The Foss siblings were just one of many stories that could be told of children called “river rats “ collateral damage of the depression era, but whilst they lived in poverty, that did not necessarily mean they weren’t loved.
History shows us that countless types of Orphanages no matter what the country, have always been either good or bad depending on who is running them, and for what reasons.
The author kept the story flowing despite the switching of chapters from past to present. Rill/May faced untold threats and hardship being the eldest of her family.
It is story of about never giving up no matter what, and the triumph of the spirit on Sister Days

CloodyH ,

Before we were yours

Amazing!

More Books by Lisa Wingate