Before We Were Yours Before We Were Yours

Before We Were Yours

    • 4.5 • 221 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT - A #1 New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly Bestseller

Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story. For readers of Where the Crawdad Sings and Orphan Train.

Born into a world of wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all. A loving daughter to her father, a US senator, with her own ambitious career as a lawyer and a handsome fiance waiting for her in Baltimore, she has lived a charmed life.

But when Avery returns to Aiken to help her father weather a health crisis and a political attack, a chance encounter with May Crandall, an elderly woman she's never met before, leaves Avery deeply shaken. Avery's decision to learn more about May's life will take her on a journey through a hidden history of stolen children and illegal adoption. A journey that will reveal a secret that could lead to devastation...or redemption.

Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

PRAISE

'Wingate is a compelling storyteller, steeping her narrative with a forward momentum that keeps the reader as engaged and curious.' - Publisher's Weekly

'It is impossible not to get swept up in this near perfect novel. It invades your heart from the very first pages and stays there long after the book is finished.' - Huffington Post

'The society seems too Dickensian to be true, except that it was, and its black-market adoption practices caused a stir in the mid-twentieth century. Wingate writes with flair, and her distinctly drawn characters and adept use of the adoption scandal will keep readers turning the pages.' - Booklist

'Lisa Wingate's heart-racing, heart-wrenching tale of a family ripped apart by the Tennessee Children's Home Society scandal, rang so true I couldn't sleep until I knew their fate. Days later, I'm still haunted by the diabolical plot to steal and sell the most vulnerable children to high bidders, sanctioned by high-ranking officials who looked the other way.' - Julie Kibler, International Bestselling Author of Calling Me Home

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2017
1 June
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Mira
SELLER
HarperCollins Australia Pty Limited
SIZE
1.7
MB

Customer Reviews

Kezmal ,

Sad tears and happy tears

Such a beautifully written novel. It’s so completely sad that someone as despicable as Georgia Tann existed. And those poor, poor children. I cried for the atrocious lack of remorse and care, and vileness those children were subjected to.

ShellCart ,

Before We were Your

Different style of book and story. Very well written could not put it down towards the end. It was enthralling.

BCOT66 ,

Couldn’t put it down

This book was an incredible read. It had me turning pages long after bed time. My heart literally ached reading this book and at times I was in fits of sobs, but it was well written and engaging.

More Books Like This

The Book of Lost Friends The Book of Lost Friends
2020
The Friday Gospels The Friday Gospels
2013
All the Little Hopes All the Little Hopes
2021
The Girl in the Red Coat The Girl in the Red Coat
2015
The Sandcastle Sister The Sandcastle Sister
2015
The Alibi Girl The Alibi Girl
2020

More Books by Lisa Wingate

Talk of the Town Talk of the Town
2008
The Prayer Box The Prayer Box
2013
The Sea Glass Sisters The Sea Glass Sisters
2013
The Tidewater Sisters The Tidewater Sisters
2014
The Story Keeper The Story Keeper
2014
The Book of Lost Friends The Book of Lost Friends
2020

Customers Also Bought

The Great Alone The Great Alone
2018
The Four Winds The Four Winds
2021
Wild Wild
2020
The Things We Cannot Say The Things We Cannot Say
2019
Another Life Another Life
2023
Winter Garden Winter Garden
2014