The Things We Cannot Say

    • 4.6 • 285 Ratings
    • $7.99
    • $7.99

Publisher Description

A searing page-turner of family secrets and the legacy of war by the Top 10 bestselling Australian author of BEFORE I LET YOU GO

2019
Life changed beyond recognition for Alice when her son, Eddie, was born with autism spectrum disorder. She must do everything to support him, but at what cost to her family? When her cherished grandmother is hospitalised, a hidden box of mementoes reveals a tattered photo of a young man, a tiny leather shoe and a letter. Her grandmother begs Alice to return to Poland to see what became of those she held dearest.

WWII Alina and Tomasz are childhood sweethearts. The night before he leaves for college, Tomasz proposes marriage. But when their village falls to the Nazis, Alina doesn't know if Tomasz is alive or dead.

2019 In Poland, separated from her family, Alice begins to uncover the story her grandmother is so desperate to tell, and discovers a love that bloomed in the winter of 1942. As a painful family history comes to light, will the struggles of the past and present finally reach a heartbreaking resolution?

Inspired by the author's own family history, The Things We Cannot Say unearths a tragic love story and a family secret whose far-reaching effects will alter lives forever.

'Kelly Rimmer has raised the already-high bar with this unforgettable novel, The Things We Cannot Say. Alina and Tomasz's story is one of bravery, resilience, and the lengths we will go to for the ones we love. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah now have a new go-to author' Sally Hepworth, author of The Secrets of Midwives

'The Things We Cannot Say is such an emotional and powerful read that I found it almost impossible to put down. I was riveted, and will be recommending this book to everyone I know' Lisa Ireland, author of The Shape of Us

**Contains a BONUS extract from Kelly Rimmer's latest heart-rending novel, THE WARSAW ORPHAN**

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
26 February
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hachette Australia
SELLER
Hachette Australia Pty Ltd
SIZE
2.4
MB

Customer Reviews

xyz over it ,

The things we cannot say

This was a very good read. I could not put the book down. My mother and her family also came from Poland from a little village. They were lucky to be sponsored by an uncle and brought to Australia. My grandparents lots a number of brothers and sisters who did not want to come or who could not get out in time and died in the camps. I am lucky to be here.

Thank you for this story it brought tears to my eyes as what both Jewish and Catholic poles went through and how they were treated by the Nazis and Germans. Both my grand parents dies way too early so I don't know much of their story only what my mother remembers. I do hope to visit Poland and see where my family lived.

Giraffeeee ,

What a love story!

Absolutely wonderful story of so many lives during the darkest of times. The characters are so well developed, the storyline engaging and the writing style had me hook line & sinker. I was finished in just a few days! Absolutely recommend, one of the best books I’ve read in a long time!

Rowa B ,

Love it

The things we cannot say will take you to a
Journey, No one ever explained what I feel the same way that you explained it as a mum with an autistic kid with the funny and small details that no one will ever think about, or think it matters

The book took me to a journey in a loving, passionate historical beautiful journey mixed with different emotions Sadness, fear, pain and lots of love and passion and how to use our past to build the future

Amazing book

More Books by Kelly Rimmer

2018
2020
2016
2016
2021
2019

Customers Also Bought

2019
2017
2020
2021
2020
2015