Buried Deep Buried Deep
Book 1 - Detective Megan Thomas

Buried Deep

A completely gripping crime thriller with heart-stopping suspense

    • 4.2 • 67 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

Compulsive and thoroughly captivating… I found myself unable to tear myself away and as a consequence read it all in a single tense sittingbags of suspense and action wrapped up in a thrillingly plotted story’ Reader’s Retreat, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


On the first day in her new job, Detective Megan Thomas is called to a murder. The body lies deep in an underground bunker, in the middle of beautiful countryside. The two women in the nearest house claim to have no idea who it could be or who could have put it there. So why are they so nervous? And why does Noah, the young child living there, talk about a visitor he’s meant to keep secret?


Megan is determined to solve the case. She’s moved to Devon for a fresh start, after years spent undercover. But when she looks at the victim, it triggers a panic attack. As her heart races and her breathing stalls, she’s forced to ask whether she can return to life in a regular crime unit. Her memories are too powerful to be buried, maybe too powerful to let her do her job. But the need to find justice for the unnamed victim still drives her. 


When another body is found on the stretch of beach where she swims every day, Megan realises that she is up against a truly vicious killer. Then Noah goes missing, and Megan finds herself in a race against time to save an innocent life. She won’t rest until she finds answers – no matter what it might cost her.


A completely gripping new series from bestselling author Susan Wilkins, introducing the tough and determined Detective Megan Thomas. For fans of Ann Cleeves, LJ Ross and Mari Hannah, this will keep you hooked from the first page to the last.


What readers are saying about Buried Deep:


‘My favourite read of 2020… I was engaged from the very first chapterBrilliant’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Extremely compulsive… my attention didn’t waver for a second and I read it in one sitting… keeps the interest and tension going with timely reveals, unexpected developments and a clever plot’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I loved the book and was gripped straight from the off. Susan’s a great writer, building up the tension nicely and giving a thumping action-packed ending that really delivers.’ Jessie Keane, author of The Knock


Addictive, gripping, twisty… how this story unfolds is just brilliant’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Thrillingwill have you gripped and enthralled right from the beginning… an addictive read’ Once Upon A Time Book Blog


One of the bestcompellingI loved this book.’ Nigeladamsbookworm, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I loved Buried Deep… a gripping plot that had me frantically flipping pages… If you haven't yet read this, you need to. An excellent start to a series that promises to be brilliant.’ Sandy’s Book A Day


Loved this… if you like Vera you will love this book. Brilliant’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Brillianthad me hooked from the beginning’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Brilliant book in my opinion! I want to read more and dive into Megan's past… She fascinates me. 5 stars.’ B for Bookreview, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘A terrific start to what promises to be an excellent new police procedural series’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Grippingtwists and turns and plenty of suspicious characters… Looking forward to reading more’ Goodreads Reviewer


‘A suspenseful fast paced thriller’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Murders, intricate plot, red herrings and twisted reveals… I knew I had a winner in my handsShalini’s Books & Reviews


Full of action and suspensehard to put down. Couldn't wait to find out what happened… Amazing.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
6 April
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
375
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
Carmelite House
SIZE
3.9
MB

Customer Reviews

Marns17 ,

A great start to a new series

There is nothing like a new fresh series to sink your teeth into and Buried Deep fits the bill perfectly. Set against the beautiful landscape of Devon, Susan delivers a thrilling read that will have you gripped and enthralled right from the beginning.

Susan has created a plot that had me instantly hooked. The story follows Detective Megan Thomas as she moves to Devon leaving behind a five year career which was spent working undercover for the Metropolitan Police. Now working for the regular crime unit, she is barely settled in on her first day, when she is called to the scene of a murder.

But this triggers her to have a panic attack and with it brings back memories that leave her questioning whether she is able to do her job. When another body is found, Megan must pull herself together if she is to solve the crime and stop the killer before they strike again.

I really enjoyed all the characters in the story and main protagonist Detective Megan Thomas makes for a great lead. She is tough but not without her own flaws and issues which are touched on briefly and I look forward to the layers being peeled back as we learn more about her.

Buried Deep is an addictive read. It is well structured, has an interesting plot, well developed characters that Susan brings all together with writing that is fluid, engaging and captures the reader in its prose.

A new author for me, Susan is now on my radar and I look forward to reading more books in this series in the future. It was an absolute pleasure to read and review Buried Deep which I highly recommend.

More Books Like This

You Had It Coming You Had It Coming
2021
Such a Lovely Family Such a Lovely Family
2024
House of Smoke House of Smoke
2013
The Wicked Girls The Wicked Girls
2012
The Other Mrs Miller The Other Mrs Miller
2019
Just What Kind of Mother Are You? Just What Kind of Mother Are You?
2013

More Books by Susan Wilkins

Customers Also Bought

Home Fires Burn Home Fires Burn
2020
From the Shadows From the Shadows
2020
Double Dealing Double Dealing
2020
Her Last Goodnight Her Last Goodnight
2020
Where She Lies Where She Lies
2019
The Child Before The Child Before
2019

Other Books in This Series