Katie's Kitchen Katie's Kitchen

Katie's Kitchen

A compelling saga of betrayal and a mother's love

    • 4.0 • 1 Rating
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

As the Great War looms, can a young woman hope to build a new life?

Dee Williams writes an engrossing saga in Katie's Kitchen - the story of a young mother's escape from the past, only to be threatened by the horror of the First World War. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Annie Murray.

'A gem, a warm and compulsive read' - Coventry Evening Telegraph

When her friend and business partner Edwin Brown dies it seems as if Katherine Carter's own world has ended. Not only has her closest companion been taken from her, she's also lost the successful restaurant they built up together, as well as the comfortable home they shared with her young son. Now all this has been snatched away, for Edwin has left no will and his lecherous brother Gerald presumes he's inherited Katherine along with the house.

With little money but full of determination, Katherine escapes Gerald's violent advances and takes lodgings in Rotherhithe, with her cook's sister, Milly. Despite its poverty, Docklands London is full of hope and friendship and, in helping her new neighbours through their difficulties, Katherine finally begins to tackle her troubled past. But even as she rebuilds her life around the pie-and-mash shop where she works, a terrible shadow is hanging over the country. And little does anyone know the horrors 1914 will unleash...

What readers are saying about Katie's Kitchen:

'Brilliant storyline - kept me up late wanting to know what happens next'

'This book is brilliant. Gives you a great insight into war in everyday lives - a great story line and great characters. A must read'

'Five stars'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2010
7 January
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
266
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Australia Pty Ltd
SIZE
1.4
MB

More Books Like This

A Daughter's Choice A Daughter's Choice
2015
A Daughter's Promise A Daughter's Promise
2018
Mersey Girl Mersey Girl
2017
Sunshine and Showers Sunshine and Showers
2017
A Mother's Gift A Mother's Gift
2011
A Winter to Remember A Winter to Remember
2023

More Books by Dee Williams

The Big Tiny The Big Tiny
2014
Lights Out Till Dawn Lights Out Till Dawn
2011
Love and War Love and War
2010
A Moment to Remember A Moment to Remember
2010
Maggie's Market Maggie's Market
2010
This Time For Keeps This Time For Keeps
2009

Customers Also Bought

When Wishes Come True When Wishes Come True
2012
Out with the Old Out with the Old
2010
The Apple of her Eye The Apple of her Eye
2015
Goodbye Liverpool Goodbye Liverpool
2010
A Distant Dream A Distant Dream
2013
Bessie's War Bessie's War
2020