• $19.99

Publisher Description

'There is no one writing better police procedurals today.' Daily Telegraph

A family all with motives for murder. A detective haunted by his past.

A rich old man, Rupert Moncrieff, is beaten to death in the silence of his West Country waterside mansion, his head hooded and his throat cut. His extended family are still living beneath his roof, each with their own room, their own story, their own ghosts, and their own motives for murder. And in this world of darkness and dysfunction are the artefacts and memories of colonial atrocities that are returning to haunt them all.

At the heart of the murder investigation is DS Jimmy Suttle who, along with his estranged journalist wife Lizzie, is fighting his own demons after the abduction and death of their young daughter, Grace.

But who killed Rupert Moncrieff? And what secrets is the house holding onto that could unravel this whole investigation?

The enquiry takes Suttle to Africa and beyond as he slowly begins to understand the damage that human beings can inflict upon one another. Not simply on the battlefield. Not simply in the torture camps in the Kenyan bush. But much, much closer to home.

Why readers love Graham Hurley:

'There is no one writing better police procedurals today.' Daily Telegraph

'Well-written and plotted, utterly convincing and really exciting... Excellent' Daily Mail

'One of the great talents of British police procedurals... every book he delivers is better than the last' Independent on Sunday

Fans of Ian Rankin, Peter James and Peter Robinson will love Graham Hurley:

Faraday and Winter
1. Turnstone
2. The Take
3. Angels Passing
4. Deadlight
5. Cut to Black
6. Blood and Honey
7. One Under
8. The Price of Darkness
9. No Lovelier Death
10. Beyond Reach
11. Borrowed Light
12. Happy Days

Jimmy Suttle
1. Western Approaches
2. Touching Distance
3. Sins of the Father
4. The Order of Things

* Each Graham Hurley novel can be read as a standalone or in series order *

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2014
20 November
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
272
Pages
PUBLISHER
Orion
SELLER
Hachette Australia Pty Ltd
SIZE
945.3
KB

More Books by Graham Hurley