The Shadow of What Was Lost

Book One of the Licanius Trilogy

    • 4.3 • 207 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

'A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' Guardian

AS DESTINY CALLS, A JOURNEY BEGINS


It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers.

As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden powers of the Augurs, he sets in motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is . . .

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated, begins to stir.

The Licanius trilogy:
The Shadow of What Was Lost
An Echo of Things to Come
The Light of All That Falls


'Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters' Boingboing.net

'Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding' Fantasy Faction

'Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series' Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blog

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2016
19 July
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
704
Pages
PUBLISHER
Little, Brown Book Group
SELLER
Hachette Australia Pty Ltd
SIZE
3.4
MB

Customer Reviews

fantasyrules ,

Amazing

the best debut I have read, the book itself...brilliant Islington writes like a live child of Jordan and Sanderson. When you think you have a grip on what's happening and think you have picked a twist or alignment of point of view of a character, you will be wrong in all the right ways. Any fantasy book lover should read this immediately

TheOriginalSGboy ,

Admirable attempt

But this ain’t no GRRM, nor a Robert Jordan. At best, a good wannabe.

More Books by James Islington

2017
2019
2021
2022
2021
2021

Customers Also Bought

2017
2018
2016
2019
2019
2019

Other Books in This Series

2017
2019