• $4.99

Publisher Description

’Fans of The Dilemma and Three Hours will love this.’ John Marrs, bestselling author of The One Tragedy brought them together. The truth will tear them apart.

It’s supposed to be Laura’s dream holiday: a trip to France with a group of friends to see their favourite band play live. But the holiday quickly turns to disaster, and Laura is left haunted by terrifying images from the worst night of her life.
 
When Laura finds an online support group for victims like her, she’s not convinced it will help. But then Sandrine replies to her message, and she seems to understand what Laura’s going through, in a way that no one else can.
 
Soon, Laura and Sandrine are sharing their deepest thoughts and feelings with each other. But one of them has a terrible secret – she isn’t who she says she is. And once the twisted truth is revealed, there’s no going back…

Readers LOVE The Silent Friend:

'A thought-provoking and gripping read.’ Roz Watkins, author of the DI Meg Dalton series

‘Superb… Maps the complex territory of female friendship with great insight, and kept me gripped from the very start.' Kate Rhodes, author of the DI Ben Kitto series

‘An intriguing concept and an addictive read.’ Annabel Kantaria, author of I Know You and The Disappearance

‘WOW! This is one of the most incredible books I have read in a long time… I went through every emotion possible. Jeffrey throws in twist after twist.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘If you only read one novel a year, this is the one to choose. This novel blew me away… This is the standout book of 2020.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘One of the most complex, hard-hitting books I have ever read… A brilliant book… Gripping and thought provoking.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘Will stay with me for a long time. It is such a thought-provoking read and I loved it.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘Don't go into this one with any expectations because by the end you'll be blown away!… This was quite the emotional rollercoaster… The end results are gripping!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘Wow! This was a thrill ride of a book… Had me on the edge of my seat. I had to remind myself to breathe as I kept holding my breath.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘One of the best books I've read this year.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘I loved this book. Stayed up until three a.m. just because I couldn't put it down… A five star read. Don't miss this one.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

Reviews

'A thoughtful drama exploring an unlikely friendship. Fans of The Dilemma and Three Hours will love this.’ John Marrs, bestselling author of The One and The Passenger

About the author

Diane Jeffrey grew up in North Devon, in the United Kingdom. She now lives in Lyon, France with her husband and their three children, Labrador, cat and kitten.

Diane is an English teacher. When she's not working or writing, she likes swimming, running and reading. She loves chocolate, beer and holidays. Above all, she enjoys spending time with her family and friends.

Readers can follow Diane on Twitter @dianefjeffrey
or on Facebook.com/dianejeffreyauthor

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
4 November
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ Digital
SELLER
HarperCollins Australia Pty Limited
SIZE
2.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Marns17 ,

Heartbreakingly brilliant

I can’t believe I have never read a book by Diane Jeffrey before! What a massive rock I had been hiding under all this time! Well, I am so glad that The Silent Friend popped up on my radar so I could crawl out from underneath it and be introduced to another fantastic author!

The Silent Friend is not the story I expected it to be, but ended up being so much more. While the blurb does not mention the catalysis of the story, I do have to say that it does deal with a mass shooting, so for those of you that have been affected by this, it may be a trigger for you.

The story is an interesting exploration of the impacts to relationships of family and friends as a result of a terror attack. It plays out over duel timelines with the narrative alternating from the present to the recent past and even though it is at times a tough read, I like how Diane Jeffrey focused more on the emotions of the characters than of the act itself.

I really enjoyed Diane Jeffrey’s style and through writing that is so vivid, I felt like I was also part of the story experiencing it with the characters. The writing is on point, the narrative is strong and it is just so raw and honest. She really goes deep into the psyches of the two main characters, who have both been incredibly well written.

The Silent Friend is one of those books that gets under you skin and will stay with you for a long time to come. It is highly emotive, powerful, compelling and it just takes you over. I am so glad that I have now been exposed to Diane Jeffrey’s work and I look forward to reading more from her.

More Books by Diane Jeffrey