• $11.99

Publisher Description

‘As much a thriller as a chilling exploration of grief, The Woman on the Pier is one of B P Walter’s finest—and most shocking—novels yet’ A. J. Gnuse, author of Girl in the Walls

Two strangers meet on the pier

Only one walks away…

Screenwriter Caroline Byrne is desperate to know why her daughter Jessica died, murdered in Stratford when she was supposed to be at a friend’s in Somerset.

When Caroline discovers the messages Jessica had been sending a boy named Michael, she realises it’s because of him. Because he failed to meet her that day.

He’s the reason why her daughter is dead.

And so she makes a choice. He’s the one who’s going to pay.

That is her promise. Her price.

Set between Essex, Kent, and Australia, The Woman on the Pier is a dark suspense thriller brimming with secrets and lies seeping across three generations – a must-read for fans of Lucy Foley and Rosamund Lupton.

‘An unflinching, visceral and eloquently written dissection of a mother’s grief and her journey to get what she perceives as justice’ R. J. Parker, author of The Good Neighbour

Reviews

Praise for THE DINNER GUEST:

‘Stayed up till past 2am to finish this! Well done, B P Walter – immensely gripping!’ Sophie Hannah, Sunday Times-bestselling author of the Hercule Poirot Mysteries

‘Could not put this book down, kept me guessing the entire way. Wow! A triumph from B P Walter’ Susan Lewis, Sunday Times-bestselling author of FORGIVE ME

‘I couldn't put this down. Suspenseful and well crafted, this is twisty, addictive reading to add to your list’ Debbie Howells, bestselling author of THE VOW and Richard and Judy Book Club pick THE BONES OF YOU

Praise for A VERSION OF THE TRUTH:

‘Devilishly well-plotted, crisply written – and a hell of a lot of fun. What a smashing debut!’ A.J. Finn, #1 bestselling author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW

‘Beguiling, surprising and sometimes shocking. Cleverly crafted with characters who stay with you. Highly-polished debut.’ Jane Corry, author of THE DEAD EX

‘Such a confident debut from Barnaby Walter and the most disturbing thriller I’ve read this year.’
Emma Curtis, author of ONE LITTLE MISTAKE and WHEN I FIND YOU.

‘Day one of my holiday lost to B P Walter and his intriguing thriller A Version of the Truth. If you like Peter Swanson, this will be right up your dark, twisted alley’
John Marrs, author of THE ONE

‘A Version of the Truth is engaging and sinister in places. Walter has created wonderfully authentic characters, and the writing is superb. Highly recommended.’ Elisabeth Carpenter, author of 99 RED BALLOONS

‘Walter's debut is an assured piece of world-building, with characters both flawed and real, and a crescendo that sweeps you up then crashes you down. Unpredictable, clever & subtly twisted. Loved it.’ Helen Fields, author of PERFECT SILENCE

‘A dark and sometimes disturbing debut; a compelling story with credible characters. Walter emerges as a powerful new voice in the world of thriller writing.’ Diane Jeffrey, author of HE WILL FIND YOU

About the author

B P Walter was born and raised in Essex. After spending his childhood and teenage years reading compulsively, he worked in bookshops then went to the University of Southampton to study Film and English followed by an MA in Film & Cultural Management. He is an alumni of the Faber Academy and currently works in social media coordination for Waterstones in London.

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
11 November
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
One More Chapter
SELLER
HarperCollins Australia Pty Limited
SIZE
5.1
MB

More Books by B P Walter