Chase Her Shadow Chase Her Shadow
Book 17 - Detectives Kane and Alton

Chase Her Shadow

A totally addictive serial killer thriller with a heart-stopping twist

    • 4.3 • 20 Ratings
    • $5.99
    • $5.99

Publisher Description

She wakes suddenly. Dawn is still hours away, but through the window of her log cabin in the woods, something moves in the distance. A lone figure in the forest. Her blood runs cold as the shadow begins to walk slowly toward her…

 

It’s Halloween in Black Rock Falls and Sheriff Jenna Alton and her deputy David Kane are called to a small lodge on the outskirts of town. Jenna is devastated to find the lifeless body of Willow Smith, a military widow whose husband went missing in action and has been presumed dead for years. Her breath catches in her throat when she notices the heart-shaped purple medal on Willow’s pale chest. Was Willow clinging to it when she died, or was it placed there after she took her last breath?

 

Desperately chasing down every lead, Jenna hears that Willow had been receiving silent phone calls in the dead of night. Witnesses say Willow thought her missing husband was trying to make contact. Wishful thinking of a lonely wife consumed with grief, or a heartless killer hoping to terrify her?

 

Days later, another woman’s body is found at the bottom of a perilous ravine. Jenna’s worst fear is confirmed the moment she spots a purple medal: a dangerous serial killer is preying on the wives of soldiers from the same platoon, and if she doesn’t act fast, more lives will be at risk.

 

The key lies in discovering what happened to the missing soldiers, and whether any of them made it back alive. But, separated from her team in a secluded forest, Jenna hears a branch snap behind her. She is not alone. Will she be the next victim of a twisted trained soldier on the loose? And how many more grieving widows will have their lives snatched before he’s caught?

 

Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot, Chase Her Shadow is a truly unputdownable crime thriller from USA Today bestselling author D.K. Hood. Prepare to be hooked!


**Each Kane and Alton book can be read as part of the series or as a standalone**

 

What readers are saying about Chase Her Shadow:

Loved it! Kept me glued to my chair.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


FantasticHeart-racingI loved it and was barely able to put it down… Cracking.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“I felt my muscles cramp, my nerve endings prickle, my heart rate went up… I read this book in the blink of an eye… It sucked me in.” B for Bookreview, 5 stars


I’d give it ten stars, if I could.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


My favourite… I can’t get enough!Perfect… Suspense was everywhere!… I couldn’t put it down.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


I read through the night to finish this.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“A page turner that will keep you in the edge of your seat.” @mandylovestoread


What readers are saying about D.K. Hood:

Left me chilled to the boneMust-read in this gripping and very addictive series.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


Oh wow, I can’t say enough about this one!! So good!! Literally had me guessing until the reveal… Captivated.” Sip_andread, 5 stars


Wow! Still trying to catch my breath.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


Exceptional… My word, I couldn’t put this downCompulsive reading and I couldn’t stop and had to read to the end.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


“A cracking page-turner with some omg moments that will keep you reading late into the night.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2022
December 9
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
367
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
Carmelite House
SIZE
5.3
MB

Customer Reviews

joannehurley ,

Edge-Of-Your-Seat Suspense

Well, it's Halloween in Black Rock Falls, and we all know what that means, don't we boys and girls.... Serial Killer Central has come to life, decorated with ghouls, ghosts, vampires, witches, werewolves, skeletons, spiders and webs, and pumpkins by the truckload; and of course, murder is in the air, too.
Welcome to the 17th book in the Detectives Kane and Alton series.
Fasten your seatbelts, it's going to be a bumpy night.
Their husbands were MIA (Missing In Action) in Afghanistan, together as a unit, and yet the wives have started receiving phone calls, always at midnight and at Halloween, telling them that their long lost loves have returned and want to reunite. But the reunion is not what they expected!
Jenna Alton and Dave Kane are expecting Halloween to be the usual around Black Rock Falls, with a side order of mayhem, but when they're called to not one but two suspected suicides, it becomes abundantly clear that things are not what they appear to be. Why would these women wait so long to end it all, when they seem to have been leading, mostly, normal lives and getting on with things?
The first woman was leaving on vacation the next day, the second had left the lights on and it appeared as though she was just out for a walk. So - not suicide, but murder.
Too many details would give the plot away, and I wouldn't want to do that, so I'm going to concentrate on the book itself. First of all, the atmosphere is decidedly creepy, as befits a Halloween tale; some of the location names are truly weird (as befitting Serial Killer Central); places like Creeping Vine Trail and Twisted Tree Ridge. Second, there is much more investigation as opposed to multiple murders and taunting killers. I enjoyed getting more glimpses into how Jenna, Dave, Shane, Rio, Jo, etc. actually investigate rather than just hunt and capture.
Now, this killer is special and one of the more twisted they've ever encountered - and that makes this book one of the special ones.
With developing personalities, and an expanding cast of characters, I cannot wait to see where Ms. Hood takes us next.
Can be read as a standalone, but you only really get the whole picture if you jump in and read the entire series.
Highly recommended. I'd give it 10 Stars if I could.

More Books Like This

The Detectives Kane and Alton Series: Books 7–9 The Detectives Kane and Alton Series: Books 7–9
2021
The Boy The Boy
2016
Darkroom: A Thriller Darkroom: A Thriller
2016
Society of the Nines Society of the Nines
2011
Tumbled Graves Tumbled Graves
2016
The Lava Witch The Lava Witch
2022

More Books by D.K. Hood

Don't Tell a Soul Don't Tell a Soul
2017
Bring Me Flowers Bring Me Flowers
2018
Follow Me Home Follow Me Home
2018
Where Angels Fear Where Angels Fear
2019
The Crying Season The Crying Season
2018
Whisper in the Night Whisper in the Night
2019

Customers Also Bought

My Child is Missing My Child is Missing
2023
Close Her Eyes Close Her Eyes
2023
Face Her Fear Face Her Fear
2024
The Innocent Wife The Innocent Wife
2022
Local Girl Missing Local Girl Missing
2022
Watch Her Disappear Watch Her Disappear
2022

Other Books in This Series

Now You See Me Now You See Me
2023
Their Wicked Games Their Wicked Games
2023
Where Hidden Souls Lie Where Hidden Souls Lie
2023
A Song for the Dead A Song for the Dead
2024
Eyes Tight Shut Eyes Tight Shut
2024
Don't Look Back Don't Look Back
2022