Cold as Ice Cold as Ice
Book 5 - Cold Justice® - The Negotiators

Cold as Ice

A Romantic Thriller

    • 4.5 • 46 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

"This book has everything I like! Hot hero, strong heroine, kidnapping, a second chance, set in Alaska, and enough suspense to keep me turning the pages as fast as I can!" –New York Times bestselling author Susan Stoker. 


A Daphne Du Maurier Award For Excellence In Mystery/Romantic Suspense finalist. 


When Darby O'Roarke wakes up in a strange house with a dead man - with no memory of what happened - she knows who she has to call: FBI Supervisory Special Agent Eban Winters...the man she fell for, and who rejected her, last summer.


A negotiator isn't supposed to get involved with kidnap victims, and Eban has been trying to avoid the temptation that is Darby O'Roarke ever since they met. One frantic phone call has him racing to Alaska to uncover the truth, but he faces stubborn opposition from the local police, and a growing media frenzy. 


Getting Darby released from jail and keeping her safe is his first priority. When another woman is brutally slain, evidence emerges that suggests Darby is being framed, and that the culprit is a vicious serial killer who has eluded the FBI for more than a decade...and, now, the killer has Darby in their sights. 


All the books in the Cold Justice® world can be read as standalone novels. Hot romantic stories with thrilling plots and guaranteed happily ever afters, they do contain strong language. For fans of Melinda Leigh, Kendra Elliot, Mary Burton, and Debra Webb.

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2021
September 23
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
521
Pages
PUBLISHER
Toni Anderson Inc.
SELLER
Toni Anderson Inc.
SIZE
1.4
MB

Customer Reviews

Leggs1974 ,

Loved this book

Darby & Eban are a power couple. They both have feelings for one another, however neither have committed.
Ms. Anderson writes an excellent novel, the suspense packs each chapter. I thought I knew the culprit, however a twist in the story changed that. This was an awesome read.

Sandy Sch ,

4.25stars—intriguing and haunting

4.25 stars--COLD AS ICE is the fifth instalment in Toni Anderson’s contemporary, adult COLD JUSTICE: THE NEGOTIATORS erotic, romantic suspense series. This is thirty-four year old, FBI Supervisory Special Agent Eban Winters, and twenty-six year old PhD student Darby O’Roarke’s story line. COLD AS ICE can be read as a stand alone without any difficulty. Any important information from the previous story line is revealed where necessary. Darby and Eban’s story begins in book two Colder Than Sin.

Told from dual third person perspectives (Darby and Eban) and first person (killer) COLD AS ICE follows in the wake of the murder Darby’s PhD mentor Martin Carstairs, a murder of which our heroine has been unjustly accused. Desperate for help, Darby ‘accidentally’ contacts FBI Supervisory Special Agent Eban Winters, the man who helped Darby months before following her kidnapping and torture in Nabat Island in the Flores Sea, Indonesia but a second victim all but releases Darby as the prime suspect, a release many refuse to acknowledge or accept. With the arrival of Eban Winters, Darby finds herself under the protection of the man with whom she will fall in love but a man who refused her advances months before. What ensues is the building romance and relationship between Eban and Darby, as the Eban, and the local Fairbanks, Alaska police department hunt for a killer.

Eban Winter’s attraction to Darby has never waned in the months since her rescue from Nabat Island, Indonesia but Eban refused to act on his attraction knowing Darby had suffered enough at the hands of her kidnappers and abusers. Desperate to prove Darby is innocent of the crime of murder, Eban sees red when the local PD begin to circle like vultures on our story line heroine. Darby O’Rourke doesn’t remember much about the night in question only that she woke to a dead body in someone else’s house but when the killer begins targeting a number of people in our heroine’s life, Eban knows that the killings are personal and directed at the woman he loves.

The relationship between Eban and Darby is one of immediate attraction but months will pass before Eban allows himself any kind of personal interaction in the face of the horrific atrocities Darby suffered at the hands of someone else. With very few people behind Darby as a means of help or support, Eban finds himself Darby’s first line of defense when it comes to proving herself innocent of the crimes. The $ex scenes are intimate, passionate and intense without the use of over the top, sexually graphic language and text.

There is a large ensemble cast of colorful secondary and supporting characters including several victims of a serial killer who is getting desperate. We are introduced to several fellow PhD students at University of Alaska Fairbanks, as well as local therapist Kim Gleeson, his receptionist Corinne Brown, police detective Signy Torgeson, attorney Elliot Byrne, as well as FBI Negotiator Quentin Savage, and business woman Haley Cramer (Colder Than Sin 2). There may be something developing between Elliot Byrne and Signy Torgeson.

COLD AS ICE is a story of obsession, vengeance, and murder; secrets and lies; relationships and love. The premise is intriguing and haunting; the romance is seductive and steamy; the characters are dynamic, charismatic and resilient.

More Books Like This

Cold Justice Series Cold Justice Series
2016
Cold Hearted Cold Hearted
2016
A Cold Dark Place A Cold Dark Place
2014
Waking Nightmare Waking Nightmare
2009
SEAL for Hire SEAL for Hire
2019
On the Edge On the Edge
2021

More Books by Toni Anderson

A Cold Dark Place A Cold Dark Place
2014
Her Sanctuary Her Sanctuary
2013
Cold Justice Series Box Set: Volume I Cold Justice Series Box Set: Volume I
2015
Cold Hearted Cold Hearted
2016
Cold Pursuit Cold Pursuit
2014
Cold Fear Cold Fear
2015

Customers Also Bought

Midnight Dunes Midnight Dunes
2022
Flight Flight
2021
Hidden Hidden
2020
Deep Tide Deep Tide
2023
Total Control Total Control
2019
Touch of Red Touch of Red
2017

Other Books in This Series

Cold & Deadly Cold & Deadly
2019
Colder Than Sin Colder Than Sin
2019
Cold Wicked Lies Cold Wicked Lies
2020
Cold Cruel Kiss Cold Cruel Kiss
2021