Roller Girl Roller Girl

Roller Girl

    • 3.9 • 16 Ratings
    • $10.99
    • $10.99

Publisher Description

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverance, and girl power!

  • GENRE
    Kids
    RELEASED
    2015
    March 10
    LANGUAGE
    EN
    English
    LENGTH
    256
    Pages
    PUBLISHER
    Penguin Young Readers Group
    SELLER
    Penguin Random House Canada
    SIZE
    362
    MB

    Customer Reviews

    Mar the driftwood, age 8 ,

    Great book

    Roller Girl is a great book because lots of things happen at once but it’s never too complicated. Exciting because you can read about Astrid’s progress throughout the book.
    Mar the driftwood, age 8

    More Books Like This

    New Kid New Kid
    2019
    Swim Team Swim Team
    2022
    Take Heart, My Child Take Heart, My Child
    2016
    Parker Looks Up Parker Looks Up
    2019
    Little Miss Sparkle Little Miss Sparkle
    2016
    Battle Bunny Battle Bunny
    2013

    More Books by Victoria Jamieson

    When Stars Are Scattered When Stars Are Scattered
    2020
    The Tiny Hero of Ferny Creek Library The Tiny Hero of Ferny Creek Library
    2017
    All's Faire in Middle School All's Faire in Middle School
    2017
    Comics Squad #3: Detention! Comics Squad #3: Detention!
    2017
    The Great Pet Escape The Great Pet Escape
    2016
    Olympig! Olympig!
    2012

    Customers Also Bought

    Sunny Side Up: A Graphic Novel (Sunny #1) Sunny Side Up: A Graphic Novel (Sunny #1)
    2015
    Swing it, Sunny: A Graphic Novel (Sunny #2) Swing it, Sunny: A Graphic Novel (Sunny #2)
    2017
    Be Prepared Be Prepared
    2018
    Just Jaime Just Jaime
    2019
    Brave Brave
    2017
    Awkward Awkward
    2015