Web of Desire 1

    • 4.1 • 37 Ratings
    • $5.99
    • $5.99

Publisher Description

“From a little spark may burst a flame.” ~ Dante Alighieri


Life’s lessons taught me well. 

Dreams and happy endings are simply illusions our mind creates to soften life’s blows.  I am no longer a little girl who believes in fairy tales or the existence of knights on white horses. 

While I never intended to return to Chicago or to see him again, the decision was out of my control. Now I am here, and I can’t or won’t allow the spark in his piercing blue eyes to reignite my heart the way his predatory gaze sets fire to my body.

Patrick Kelly is my past—a childish attraction. 

We are no longer children. 


I may have started as nothing, but that is history. 

Today I’m part of the royalty—a duke, a lord, or perhaps a knight—anointed by and within the upper echelon of the Sparrow dynasty. The wide-eyed tourists entering Chicago have no idea of what lies beneath the surface as they stare at the shimmering lake and shiny buildings. 

Nothing is as it seems. 

Sparrows control everything—no one enters our realm without our knowledge or catches us unaware.

No one until her.

Now that she’s here, there is too much at stake to give in to the spark that seeing her rekindles within me. Surely if it were allowed to burn, the flames will consume both of our worlds, leaving only ashes. 

From New York Times bestselling author Aleatha Romig comes a brand-new dark romance, Spark, set in the dangerous world of Chicago.   

SPARK is book one of the WEB OF DESIRE trilogy that continues in FLAME and concludes in ASHES.

Have you been Aleatha’d?

January 14
Romig Works
Romig Works LLC

Customer Reviews

Sandy Sch ,

4.25stars-intriguing, edgy and decadent

4.25 stars--SPARK is the first instalment in Aleatha Romig’s contemporary, adult WEB OF DESIRE erotic, romantic suspense series focusing on Patrick Kelly, and Madeline ‘Maddie’ Miller. SPARK and the Web of Desire series is set in the author’s Web of Sin, and Tangle Web worlds but you do not have to have read the previous series to follow or understand the current timeline.

Told from dual first person perspectives (Patrick and Madeline) SPARK follows the rekindling romance between thirty-five year olds Patrick Kelly, and Madeline ‘Maddie’ Miller. Patrick and Madeline grew up homeless on the mean streets of Chicago, scamming and stealing to survive but at age eighteen Maddie disappeared from Patrick’s life leaving our hero to search for the woman he would always love, believing she may already died. Fast forward to present day wherein Madeline Miller, a renowned poker player finds herself face to face with her past, a past that wants a reconciliation, and the truth about what happened years before. With Madeline in prime contention to win the coveted poker tournament, Patrick is caught between head and heart knowing that the poker tournament isn’t all what it appears to be. Suspecting Madeline isn’t telling the truth, Patrick hopes to coerce our heroine into telling the truth. What ensues is the rebuilding romance between Maddie and Patrick, and the potential fall-out when Maddie reveals the truth to our story line hero.

Patrick Kelly is friends and works with Sterling Sparrow, the kingpin and boss of Chicago’s powerful underworld, and as such Patrick is aware of the truth behind the high stakes poker tournament. Madeline Miller is no longer in control of her life, and finds herself, under duress, ‘working’ for a man who has threatened someone she loves. Desperate to win the poker tournament Maddie struggles with her ongoing attraction to man from who she is keeping secret, sins of the past.

The relationship between Maddie and Patrick is a second chance romance; a rekindling relationship between two people who struggled and won but Maddie’s secret is about to destroy them all. The $ex scenes are intimate, erotic and passionate without the use of over the top, sexually graphic language and text.

There is a large ensemble cast of secondary and supporting characters including Sterling Sparrow and Aranaeae McCrie (Web of Sin Trilogy); Mason Pierce and Laurel Carlson (Tangled Web Trilogy); Reid Murray; as well as several notorious crime lords, and poker stars including Andros Ivanov, Marion Elliott, Antonio Hillman, goon Mitchell Leonardo, and concierge/ organizer Veronica Standish.

SPARK is a story of betrayal and revenge; of power and control; of secrets, lies, servitude and danger. The premise is intriguing, edgy and decadent; the characters are animated and dynamic; the romance is provocative and sensitive. There is a twist to the story line that I suspected from the start, a twist that is about to complicate Patrick’s plans for revenge. SPARK ends on a cliff hanger-you have been warned.

More Books by Aleatha Romig


Customers Also Bought


Other Books in This Series