The Things We Cannot Say The Things We Cannot Say

The Things We Cannot Say

A WWII Historical Fiction Novel

    • 4.4 • 230 Ratings
    • $14.99
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

The New York Times bestseller—for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Tattooist of Auschwitz!

From the bestselling author of Truths I Never Told You, Before I Let You Go, and the The Warsaw Orphan, Kelly Rimmer’s powerful WWII novel follows a woman’s urgent search for answers to a family mystery that uncovers truths about herself that she never expected.

“Fans of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls will adore The Things We Cannot Say.” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author

In 1942, Europe remains in the relentless grip of war. Just beyond the tents of the refugee camp she calls home, a young woman speaks her wedding vows. It’s a decision that will alter her destiny…and it’s a lie that will remain buried until the next century.

Since she was nine years old, Alina Dziak knew she would marry her best friend, Tomasz. Now fifteen and engaged, Alina is unconcerned by reports of Nazi soldiers at the Polish border, believing her neighbors that they pose no real threat, and dreams instead of the day Tomasz returns from college in Warsaw so they can be married. But little by little, injustice by brutal injustice, the Nazi occupation takes hold, and Alina’s tiny rural village, its families, are divided by fear and hate.

Then, as the fabric of their lives is slowly picked apart, Tomasz disappears. Where Alina used to measure time between visits from her beloved, now she measures the spaces between hope and despair, waiting for word from Tomasz and avoiding the attentions of the soldiers who patrol her parents’ farm. But for now, even deafening silence is preferable to grief.

Slipping between Nazi-occupied Poland and the frenetic pace of modern life, Kelly Rimmer creates an emotional and finely wrought narrative. The Things We Cannot Say is an unshakable reminder of the devastation when truth is silenced…and how it can take a lifetime to find our voice before we learn to trust it.

Don’t miss Kelly Rimmer’s newest novel, The Paris Agent, where a family’s innocent search for answers brings a long-forgotten, twenty-five-year-old mystery featuring two female SOE operatives comes to light!
 
For more by Kelly Rimmer, look for Before I Let You Go Truths I Never Told You The Warsaw Orphan The German Wife

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
March 19
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
432
Pages
PUBLISHER
Graydon House Books
SELLER
Harlequin Enterprises Limited
SIZE
1.7
MB

Customer Reviews

Pilot748 ,

The Things We Can Not Say

The beauty of love is the only thing that can transform the horror of war. An emotional read that highlights the stark realities of past and present day injustices for the Jewish people.

CDRECNS ,

Must Read!

I smiled, I laughed, I cried.
I felt anguish, I felt happiness, I felt sorrow, I felt anger, I felt despair, I felt inspired, I felt joy, I felt hope.
Beautifully written, I could not put it down and I recommend this book to everyone.

living through word ,

Best book I’ve read yet

I can’t explain how I feel about this book in short but it left me feeling emotions I didn’t know where there. This is the best book I’ve read.

More Books Like This

Twisted Roots Twisted Roots
2002
My Enemy's Cradle My Enemy's Cradle
2008
Truths I Never Told You Truths I Never Told You
2020
Chai Tea Sunday Chai Tea Sunday
2012
The Moon is Missing: A Novel The Moon is Missing: A Novel
2020
Truth, by Omission Truth, by Omission
2019

More Books by Kelly Rimmer

Before I Let You Go Before I Let You Go
2018
The Secret Daughter The Secret Daughter
2015
Truths I Never Told You Truths I Never Told You
2020
A Mother's Confession A Mother's Confession
2016
The German Wife The German Wife
2022
The Warsaw Orphan The Warsaw Orphan
2021

Customers Also Bought

The Book of Lost Names The Book of Lost Names
2020
The Rose Code The Rose Code
2021
The Huntress The Huntress
2019
The Four Winds The Four Winds
2021
The Diamond Eye The Diamond Eye
2022
The Alice Network The Alice Network
2017