• $12.99

Publisher Description

“For fans who appreciate emotionally wrenching reads such as those by Sarah Jio or Kristin Hannah.” –Library Journal

“Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah now have a new go-to author.” —Sally Hepworth, bestselling author of The Secrets of Midwives

From the bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say, Before I Let You Go, and the upcoming The Warsaw Orphan, comes a poignant post-WWII novel that explores the expectations society places on women set within an engrossing family mystery that may unravel everything once believed to be true.

With her father recently moved to a care facility, Beth Walsh volunteers to clear out the family home and is surprised to discover the door to her childhood playroom padlocked. She’s even more shocked at what’s behind it—a hoarder’s mess of her father’s paintings, mounds of discarded papers and miscellaneous junk in the otherwise fastidiously tidy house.

As she picks through the clutter, she finds a loose journal entry in what appears to be her late mother’s handwriting. Beth and her siblings grew up believing their mother died in a car accident when they were little more than toddlers, but this note suggests something much darker.

Beth soon pieces together a disturbing portrait of a woman suffering from postpartum depression and a husband who bears little resemblance to the loving father Beth and her siblings know. With a newborn of her own and struggling with motherhood, Beth finds there may be more tying her and her mother together than she ever suspected.

Don't miss Kelly Rimmer's upcoming and unforgettable novel, The Warsaw Orphan.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
April 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Graydon House Books
SELLER
Harlequin Enterprises Limited
SIZE
1.1
MB

Customer Reviews

DukieGee ,

Excellent Book

So well written and author was brilliant at weaving the 1950/1990 stories together. I fell in love with all characters. Gave me great insight to PostPartum depression and Abortion laws in 1950s.

More Books by Kelly Rimmer