• $12.99

Publisher Description

The inspiration for the critically acclaimed Starz miniseries The White Queen, #1 New York Times bestselling author Philippa Gregory brings to life the extraordinary story of Elizabeth Woodville, a woman who rises from obscurity to become Queen of England, and changes the course of history forever.

Elizabeth Woodville is a woman of extraordinary beauty and ambition. Her mother is Jacquetta, also known as the mystical lady of the rivers, and she is even more determined to bring power and wealth to the family line. While riding in the woods one day, Elizabeth captures the attentions of the newly crowned King Edward IV and, despite her common upbringing, marries him in secret.

When she is raised up to be his queen, the English court is outraged, but Elizabeth rises to the demands of her exalted position and fights for her family’s dominance. Yet despite her best efforts, and even with the help of her mother’s powers, her two sons become pawns in a famous unsolved mystery that has confounded historians for centuries: the lost princes in the Tower of London.

In this dazzling account of the deadly Wars of the Roses, brother turns on brother to win the ultimate prize: the throne of England.

Fiction & Literature
August 18
Atria Books
Simon & Schuster Canada

Customer Reviews

55nomore ,

The White Queen

Gregory masterfully blends history, romance and drama in a revealing look at England's Monarchy before the notorious Henry VIII. You"ll never look at the "War of the Roses" again without pondering how the women of England may have influenced the outcomes of history. Gregory's books are always meticulously researched, but their charm lies in the creative twists and turn that may or may not have been urban myths of the time.
This book is everything you would expect about a romantic tale set in the the lush English countryside, but doesn't shield the reader from the harsh realities of two families that will fight to the death for a chance to own the throne.

More Books by Philippa Gregory

Other Books in This Series