• 4,99 €

Beschreibung des Verlags

Balzac's Contes Drolatiques, published in three installments in the 1830s, offers a lively and lusty portrait of sixteenth-century French life and manners. These thirty stories in the tradition of Boccaccio, Chaucer, and Rabelais were claimed by the author to have originated in manuscripts from the abbeys of Touraine. Abounding in episodes of good-humored licentiousness, the tales scandalized Balzac's contemporaries and continue to delight modern readers.
French novelist and playwright Honoré de Balzac (1799–1850) was a founder of realism in European literature. An inspiration to Proust, Dickens, Faulkner, Dostoyevsky, and countless others, Balzac wrote works that were hailed for their multifaceted characters and exquisite attention to detail. This edition's excellent translation was the first to make Contes Drolatiques available to English-speaking readers.

GENRE
Belletristik und Literatur
ERSCHIENEN
2014
13. Oktober
SPRACHE
EN
Englisch
UMFANG
576
Seiten
VERLAG
Dover Publications
GRÖSSE
1.8
 MB

Mehr Bücher von Honoré de Balzac