Prophecy Prophecy

Prophecy

    • 6,49 €
    • 6,49 €

Descripción editorial

The second book in the No.1 Sunday Times bestselling series set at the time of Queen Elizabeth I

Autumn, 1583. Under Elizabeth’s rule, loyalty is bought with blood…

An astrological phenomenon heralds the dawn of a new age and Queen Elizabeth’s throne is in peril. As Mary Stuart’s supporters scheme to usurp the rightful monarch, a young maid of honour is murdered, occult symbols carved into her flesh.

The Queen’s spymaster, Francis Walsingham, calls on maverick agent Giordano Bruno to infiltrate the plotters and secure the evidence that will condemn them to death.

Bruno is cunning, but so are his enemies. His identity could be exposed at any moment. The proof he seeks is within his grasp. But the young woman’s murder could point to an even more sinister truth…

Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Hilary Mantel

Praise for S. J. Parris

‘A delicious blend of history and thriller’ The Times

‘An omnipresent sense of danger’ Daily Mail

‘Colourful characters, fast-moving plots and a world where one false step in religion or politics can mean a grisly death’ Sunday Times

‘Pacy, intricate, and thrilling’ Observer

‘Vivid, sprawling … Well-crafted, exuberant’ Financial Times

‘Impossible to resist’ Daily Telegraph

‘Twists and turns like a corkscrew of venomous snakes’ Stuart MacBride

‘It has everything – intrigue, mystery and excellent history’ Kate Mosse

‘The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden

‘A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I’ Andrew Taylor

“Rich in both historical detail and ingenious twists’ Sam Bourne (bestselling author of The Righteous Men)

Reviews
‘Impossible to resist … Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins’ Daily Telegraph‘Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London … The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please’ The Times‘Parris’s plot is well crafted and full of surprises, an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth’s security’ TLS‘Tense and lively, a welcome follow-up to Heresy, fully living up to its predecessor’s promise’ Daily Mail
Praise for Heresy:
‘Heresy has everything – intrigue, mystery, excellent history and haunting sense of place. The beginning of a wonderful new detective series’ Kate Mosse‘Fascinating … The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden (bestselling author of Bones of the Hills and The Dangerous Book for Boys)

GÉNERO
Misterio y suspense
PUBLICADO
2011
3 de marzo
IDIOMA
EN
Inglés
EXTENSIÓN
448
Páginas
EDITORIAL
HarperCollins
TAMAÑO
3,6
MB

Más libros de S. J. Parris

Sacrilege Sacrilege
2012
Heresy Heresy
2010
Alchemy Alchemy
2023
The Secret Dead The Secret Dead
2014
Giordano Bruno Thriller Series Books 1-3 Giordano Bruno Thriller Series Books 1-3
2013
A Christmas Requiem A Christmas Requiem
2020

Otros clientes también compraron

The Seeker The Seeker
2015
Destroying Angel Destroying Angel
2018
The Black Friar The Black Friar
2016
The Bear Pit The Bear Pit
2019
The Redemption of Alexander Seaton The Redemption of Alexander Seaton
2009
The House of Lamentations The House of Lamentations
2020