A Restless Evil (Mitchell & Markby 14) A Restless Evil (Mitchell & Markby 14)

A Restless Evil (Mitchell & Markby 14‪)‬

An English village murder mystery of intrigue and suspicion

    • 4.3 • 7 Ratings
    • £1.99
    • £1.99

Publisher Description

A new investigation on an old case will bring shocking revelations to light...

An old case Markby failed to solve over two decades ago resurfaces after the discovery of skeletal remains in A Restless Evil, the fourteenth gripping English village murder mystery in Ann Granger's Mitchell & Markby series. The perfect read for fans of Rebecca Tope, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders.

'A gripping thriller. Ann Granger beautifully evokes a mellow village seemingly tranquil on the surface but bubbling with secrets underneath' - Huddersfield Daily Examiner

It sends a shiver down Detective Superintendent Alan Markby's spine when he hears that a rambler has stumbled on human bones in Stovey Woods in the heart of the Cotswolds. Twenty-two years ago, as a fresh-faced young inspector, he had a rare failure in the hunt for a brutal serial rapist preying on local women. After the third rape, the attacker went to ground, never to be heard of again.

Now, with a new investigation prompted by the grisly remains, the trail could be warm once more. But almost at once Markby is confronted with another body and a thoroughly up-to-date murder. Could the two be connected? It seems that some of the village residents would be just as happy to let sleeping dogs lie and secrets - both old and new - stay hidden...

What readers are saying about A Restless Evil:

'The writing is first-class and Ann Granger's world tangs with reality'

'A very good, well-plotted and well-written mystery that keeps one guessing to the end'

'An atmospheric and absorbing story'

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2010
7 January
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SIZE
1.7
MB

More Books Like This

Rooted in Evil Rooted in Evil
2017
Black Dog Black Dog
2012
The Starlings & Other Stories The Starlings & Other Stories
2015
Death in a Darkening Mist Death in a Darkening Mist
2017
A Suitable Vengeance A Suitable Vengeance
2011
Yellowhammer Yellowhammer
2018

More Books by Ann Granger

Candle for a Corpse (Mitchell & Markby 8) Candle for a Corpse (Mitchell & Markby 8)
2012
Rack, Ruin and Murder (Campbell & Carter Mystery 2) Rack, Ruin and Murder (Campbell & Carter Mystery 2)
2011
A Season for Murder (Mitchell & Markby 2) A Season for Murder (Mitchell & Markby 2)
2010
Flowers for his Funeral (Mitchell & Markby 7) Flowers for his Funeral (Mitchell & Markby 7)
2010
A Mortal Curiosity (Inspector Ben Ross Mystery 2) A Mortal Curiosity (Inspector Ben Ross Mystery 2)
2010
Where Old Bones Lie (Mitchell & Markby 5) Where Old Bones Lie (Mitchell & Markby 5)
2010

Customers Also Bought

A Colourful Death A Colourful Death
2013
Buried in the Country Buried in the Country
2016
Valley of the Shadow Valley of the Shadow
2013
Manna from Hades Manna from Hades
2013
Weighed in the Balance (William Monk Mystery, Book 7) Weighed in the Balance (William Monk Mystery, Book 7)
2013
A Sudden Fearful Death (William Monk Mystery, Book 4) A Sudden Fearful Death (William Monk Mystery, Book 4)
2013