Publisher Description

"Nobody thrills like Nicholson does. Nobody." - J.A. Konrath, Origin

The first book in the After post-apocalyptic thriller series from an international bestselling author. Look for the other books, the free prequel After: First Light, After: The Echo, After: Milepost 291, After: Whiteout, and After: Red Scare.


A massive solar storm erases the world's technological infrastructure and kills billions. While the remaining humans are struggling to adapt and survive, they notice that some among them have...changed.

Rachel Wheeler finds herself alone in the city, where violent survivors known as "Zapheads" roam the streets, killing and destroying. Her only hope is to reach the mountains, where her grandfather, a legendary survivalist, established a compound in preparation for Doomsday.

Other survivors are fleeing the city, but Zapheads aren't the only danger. Rogue bands of military soldiers want to impose their own order in the crumbling ruins of civilization. When Rachel discovers a 10-year-old boy, she vows to care for him even if it means her own chances of escaping are lower.

And the Zapheads that were once simple to evade are evolving, developing communal skills even as they lay waste to the society they will eventually replace.


Scott Nicholson is author of more than 30 books, including The Red Church, The Harvest, Creative Spirit, and The Skull Ring. His website is

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
October 26
Haunted Computer Productions

Customer Reviews

Northstar.lf ,

Great read

Really enjoyed this book, time to get the next one 😄

never enough names! ,

Get rid of all the blooming self righteous religion that contradicts its self throughout!

I love reading but this was hard, superb premise but all the bible tosh didn’t enhance this story at all, what could have been a great series fell woefully short, not all of us need god ramming down our throats at every opportunity!

Great story line but very contradictory!!!!

More Books by Scott Nicholson

Other Books in This Series