• £2.99

Publisher Description

Obsession, lust, murder - and a secret which will rip everyone apart...

Twelve years after participating in a bank heist, Carl Fisher is celebrating his fortieth birthday. Hours later his body is discovered in his hot tub, a single gunshot to his head signifying an execution style killing. DI Grace Dalton is called upon to crack the case and bring the killer to justice but the more she investigates, the more she realises his lifestyle and criminal activities have accumulated a long list of enemies. Ploughing through a sea of suspects, Grace is not only under pressure to find the killer but also adapt to a new partner, DS Ryan Nash. A rogue detective with an ambiguous past and a playboy image, he's everything she despises, yet despite her protesting to DCI Harris is given no other choice other than to be his reluctant mentor. To make matters worse, the murder weapon is traced back to a previous crime at the infamous Ringfield Estate, throwing Grace into a precarious position. Known for its gun crime and ruled by the vicious Ringfield Crew, relations between the estate and the police is taut with controversy. With links between Carl and the head of the gang coming to light, Grace finds herself thrown into a confusing maze of suspects and motives. No sooner have the pieces of the puzzle fitted together, the tables of fate turn and send the pieces into disarray. Grace soon realises that if she is to solve the case she must go back to the start where a shocking revelation will reveal how pure, deep seated rage is found in the most unlikely, and quiet places.A gripping thriller with a breath taking twist, Cold Flame is a dark British detective novel which will keep you guessing until the end. Ideal for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Mel Sherratt.Cold Flame is the first book in the DI Grace Dalton series and follows on from the prequel, The Death Of Me. 

What Readers Are Saying

"Another great book from Natalie" - mickeyblue"From the first page I knew it would be A gripping read. Couldn't put it down....Love natalie she is an amazing author" - Amazon Customer"A gripping storyline, well written and able to draw the reader from start to finish" - Brian Smith"Fabulous story,worth reading ALL her books....Fast paced, gripping" - janet" A good, honest, thinking person's " whodunnit" with more twists than an angry eel" - grahameP"...the best crime thriller I've read in a while..." - kas711

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2019
June 11
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
305
Pages
PUBLISHER
Beyond Fiction Publishing Ltd
SIZE
392.7
KB

Customer Reviews

Livingwithaspringer ,

Pretty dire

I bought this after seeing how many 5* reviews the book had received. Because of this endorsement I read to the end expecting some amazing twist but unfortunately I was completely underwhelmed. Perhaps this was partly because many things had annoyed me from seeing the carelessly missed typo on the front cover of my ebook, the first of very many errors. It’s an insult to the reader to provide a book that, being kind, must have been so rushed.
Yes, I’m griping - the word used on the cover - and didn’t find the book gripping - the word I assume was meant for the cover.
There were errors throughout; so many that I wish I’d kept count. There were even two on one of the early pages. Words were occasionally missed out or added unnecessarily. One example is ‘A cold rush trickled from her mouth to her stomach as she the wine slipped down’. Trying to understand what’s gone wrong, like in this example, distracts from the story, interrupting the flow of the plot. (I then began wondering if a ‘rush’ could ‘trickle’!) ‘Someone’s speech conveyed ‘ clearly audible hunger pangs’. What??
Sometimes I wondered if it was a case of poor spelling, like ‘draws’ instead of ‘drawers’ and ‘mat’ instead of ‘matt’. One character was late for work because she had ‘overlaid’. I’d never, ever heard a man called a widow before until I read this book. Well into double figures of times ‘stood’ and ‘sat’ were used incorrectly instead of ‘standing’ and ‘sitting’. This is creeping into the language in some parts of the country but, as an English literacy teacher, I spend time trying to encourage correct grammar and find it annoying that a published author doesn’t set a better example.
My griping could continue for some time but I’ll finish with the fact that the main character was annoying and unpleasant, much of the speech and scenes were cringe inducing clichés, as was the relationship between the main character and her new partner, and that I won’t be reading any more by this writer.

More Books by Natalie Hames

Other Books in This Series