• £0.99

Publisher Description

Multi-million copy seller Alexander Kent, brings us another adrenalin-fuelled maritime page-turner full of swashbuckling action and derring-do. Fans of Patrick O'Brian and C. S. Forester will not be disappointed!

'The battle scenes are described so vividly that Alexander Kent must surely have been there himself in a previous incarnation' -- The Nautical Magazine

'As ever, Kent evokes the blood and smoke of battle in crimson-vivid prose' -- Mail on Sunday
'A tale of angry passion, envy and adventure' -- Bookseller
'Great story, great characters, plenty of action' -- ***** Reader review
'As usual, the master writer has done it again' -- ***** Reader review
'Could not put the book down once started'-- ***** Reader review
'Wonderful' -- ***** Reader review

*********************************************************************************************
1784: at a time when most of the fleet is laid up, His Majesty's frigate Undine weighs anchor at Spithead to begin a voyage to India and far beyond. As her new captain, Richard Bolitho is glad to go, despite the nature of his orders and the immensity of the voyage - for he is leaving an England still suffering from the aftermath of war.

But he is to learn that signatures on proud documents do not necessarily make a lasting peace, and finds himself involved in a conflict as ruthless as the one which had given him his first command during the war with France.

In an uneasy peace, the expansion of trade and colonial development in little-known areas of the East Indies soon push aside the pretence and bring the guns' fury into the open.

There is no set line of battle or declared cause to rally Undine's small company, but the dangers and the endless demands have to be faced by the man who commands the only King's ship available.

Bolitho's adventures continue in Passage to Mutiny.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2010
23 February
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House
SIZE
2.4
MB

Customer Reviews

Speedy Speedy Speedy ,

Typos!!!!!!

Almost unreadable in places due to completely the wrong words appearing in places. I would say there are 1-2 typos per page. OCR only gets you so far. Random House, ever heard of proof-reading?? Another good Bolitho story though.

M.Goodwin ,

Command a kings ship

Very disappointed by the standard of transcription/proof reading. Had to correct all the errata in my head while trying to follow the story.

Possetman ,

Disappointed

What are good stories have been spoilt by a complete lack of quality control before releasing the electronic version. The quantity of incorrect grammar is unacceptable.

More Books by Alexander Kent

Other Books in This Series