Eve and her Sisters Eve and her Sisters

Eve and her Sisters

An utterly compelling, dramatic and heart-breaking saga

    • 4.6 • 85 Ratings
    • £1.99
    • £1.99

Publisher Description

She gave them everything and asked for nothing in return...

Rita Bradshaw's heart-stopping saga, Eve and Her Sisters, is a captivating tale of poverty, family and unrequited love. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Kitty Neale.


Following their father's death in a mining accident, sisters Eve, Mary and Nell journey to the Michaelmas fair at Gateshead to be put up for hire - it is that or face the workhouse. Eve, who has looked after her younger sisters since their mother's death, cannot bear the thought of them being separated so she is indebted to innkeeper, Caleb Travis, when he takes pity on her and agrees to hire them all.

Over the years, Eve's gratitude towards him turns to love, but Caleb is blind to Eve's feelings as he is infatuated with Mary. It is to take many more years of heartache before he realises his mistake...

What Amazon readers are saying about Eve and Her Sisters:

'Rita Bradshaw at her best. Fantastic story line and you get drawn into the book, I could not put it down. Very down to earth and one can empathise with situations the characters find themselves in. More, more, more from Rita'

'I couldn't put it down, it was moving, touching and almost as though it was real. Very believable, fully recommend'

'The author really brings the characters to life and you almost feel as though you are there. Brilliant!'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2010
4 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
480
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SIZE
1.4
MB

Customer Reviews

xnatbx ,

Another great read

Fantastic read. Interesting
Historically correct information

Carl's girl ,

An excellent read.

The moment you begin the book, you know things are going to be trying to say the least for Eve and her sisters. The heroine of the story, Eve, a hard working, caring soul, sister to her two young siblings, had motherhood thrust upon her when the sisters lose their remaining parent and brothers in a mining disaster. Eve loves her siblings, the homely Nell who was born to be a loving wife and mother some day, and the wayward Mary, the beauty of the family who thinks only of herself, who gets into so much trouble, one wonders how she manages to make it to adulthood. As the story unfolds, it is hard to imagine how much emotional pain and misfortune young Eve can bear. The youngsters are evicted from their home and taken in by a neighbouring family after the breadwinners are killed. Disaster strikes and Eve is forced to uproot her siblings and flee from the family she thought she could trust. The workhouse beckons if she cannot find employment and somewhere the three girls can live together. The story has a few twists and turns and always keeps the reader wanting more. This is a book that is difficult to put down, a great story which has a good mix of good fortune and tragedy.

More Books Like This

Always I'll Remember Always I'll Remember
2010
Gilding the Lily Gilding the Lily
2010
The Secrets Women Keep The Secrets Women Keep
2013
The Birthday Party The Birthday Party
2019
Our Mary Ann Our Mary Ann
2010
The Rainbow Years The Rainbow Years
2010

More Books by Rita Bradshaw

Reach for Tomorrow Reach for Tomorrow
2010
The Most Precious Thing The Most Precious Thing
2010
Born to Trouble Born to Trouble
2012
Alone Beneath the Heaven Alone Beneath the Heaven
2010
The Stony Path The Stony Path
2010
Break of Dawn Break of Dawn
2011

Customers Also Bought

Monday's Child Monday's Child
2016
The Factory Girl The Factory Girl
2015
A Mother's Love A Mother's Love
2014
Orphans and Angels Orphans and Angels
2017
Eliza's Child Eliza's Child
2015
A Daughter's Gift A Daughter's Gift
2012